Image Mapping a Planet

Started by 3DSFX, May 11, 2010, 12:44:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

3DSFX

YES!  I'm a noob Terraformer! :D
Can someone tell me how to make an extra planet in the sky and take a jpg file or whatever and use it to make the surface of the planet?  Or, link an existing thread that explains how to do it?
Lets say a picture of the moon for example.  Do I need to take it in photoshop and change the background to transparent so just the actual moon shows? Or, Do you take a square of rectangel image of the moon's surface and make sure it's tileable and use that? (This is what i'm useto doing in 3Ds max) Can TG2 read Photoshop files?  I've tried allot of different ideas but can't seem to figure it out even though I suspect this is a very basic thing. ::)
I know I can make an extra planet in the sky by making an "object" but for starters is this the correct way to make another planet? Or is there some other more recommended way?

Thanks

3DSFX

gregsandor

Use the search function here in the forum.

3DSFX

I have used the search function ofcorse. I have only been using the program for about 3 days so the bits and pieces I gleen off individual posts have not been enough for me to put it to gether to figure out how to do it because at this point I understand too little about the software.  So, I haven't been able to find anything that's more of a straight up "this is how you do it" kind of a thing.  I have been able to figure out quite a bit for only 3 days use or so but obviously most I have not figured out yet.  :(

3D

cyphyr

You can find lots of planet maps out there on the net, try "celestial motherload" for a start.
Add a new planet object, move it to its desired location.
Copy its "center" coordinates. (look for the small clipboard icon next to the coordinates on the right)