Planetside Software Forums

General => Image Sharing => Topic started by: Lady of the Lake on August 23, 2017, 09:11:17 PM

Title: The Sea
Post by: Lady of the Lake on August 23, 2017, 09:11:17 PM
Okay this was a WIP.  I had to shut down my computer and when I opened this file again this is what it said. Parse error at line 6894: not well formed (invalid token)  I had closed and saved the file just like always.  If you try to render the image, you just get a pure black screen.  Am I up the proverbial creek here and this project is lost?  Sigh.



Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: fleetwood on August 23, 2017, 10:12:24 PM
I would suggest opening the tgd file with an XML editor and looking at the Terragen coding at line 6894. It may be a simply corrupted line and something where you can see the error, (such as missing quote marks) and fix it by typing in a valid line. Six thousand lines does sound like a rather large file.

You may want to post the tgd here and perhaps it can be figured out and fixed that way.

It should be quite human readable, like this for a small example of how one power fractal is coded:
<power_fractal_shader_v3
      name = "Power fractal shader v3 02_1_1_1_1_1"
      gui_use_node_pos = "1"
      gui_node_pos = "-1520 560 0"
      gui_group = "Shaders"
      enable = "1"
      input_node = "Power fractal shader v3 02_1_1"
      gui_use_preview_patch_size = "1"
      gui_preview_patch_size = "15.625 15.625"
      seed = "26885"
      feature_scale = "1"
      lead-in_scale = "763"
      smallest_scale = "0.1"
      noise_octaves = "15"
      obey_smoothing_filter = "1"
      noise_stretch_XYZ = "1 1 1"
      apply_high_colour = "1"
      high_colour = "0.2815710008 0.318749994 0.152132988"
      apply_low_colour = "0"
      low_colour = "0 0 0"
      colour_contrast = "0.3"
      colour_offset = "0"
      colour_roughness = "3"
      clamp_high_colour = "0"
      clamp_low_colour = "0"
      apply_displacement = "1"
      displacement_direction = "1"
      displacement_amplitude = "0.01"
      displacement_offset = "0"
      displacement_roughness = "1"
      displacement_spike_limit = "1"
      continue_spike_limit = "0"
      adjust_coastline = "0"
      coastline_altitude = "0"
      coastline_smoothing = "30"
      noise_flavour = "0"
      ridge_smoothing = "0"
      gully_smoothing = "0"
      noise_variation = "0.8"
      variation_method = "1"
      buoyancy_from_variation = "0.0125"
      clumping_of_variation = "0.7875"
      better_colour_continuity = "0"
      better_displacement_continuity = "0"
      distort_by_normal = "1"
      distortion_by_normal = "5"
      lead-in_warp_effect = "0"
      lead-in_warp_amount = "0.5"
      less_warp_at_feature_scale = "0"
      allow_vertical_warp = "1"
      four-d_noise = "0"
      four-d_noise_speed = "0.1"
      reference_frame_number = "0"
      blend_by_shader = "0"
      blending_shader = ""
      fit_blendshader_to_this = "0"
      invert_blendshader = "0"
      >
   </power_fractal_shader_v3>


There is a free XML editor here if you don't have one. Or you could just take a look at it in Notepad. That would give you a rough idea if it looks human readable or looks like unreadable garbage.


http://xml-copy-editor.sourceforge.net/ (http://xml-copy-editor.sourceforge.net/)

Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: J_Con on August 23, 2017, 10:25:24 PM
You said when you try to render you get a black screen? Could you not open a second copy of terragen and copy paste everything across ?
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: Lady of the Lake on August 23, 2017, 11:10:02 PM
Thanks for the answers.  Fleetwood:  I opened the TDG in Notepad...........and then wondered how in the heck will I know which line is the 6984?   Anyway, I scrolled down and about midway there was complete garbage for a long way down...then it changed back to normal again.   Since I was at a loss as to what to do,  I opened the TDG file again and looked closely at it.  Almost everything had doubled!!!  So I deleted all of the duplicates and now the file works.   No wonder there were so many lines.   :)

I have no idea why this happened but am glad to learn about the notepad thing.  Will continue to work on the image some more. 

MANY thanks. 

Lyla
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: fleetwood on August 23, 2017, 11:22:08 PM
Cool, glad it turned out to be fixable. Your initial render looks very nice.  :)
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: archonforest on August 24, 2017, 01:49:24 AM
Yes great start.  Very promising scene.
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: luvsmuzik on August 24, 2017, 07:37:29 AM
Wonderful work so far!

So glad you rescued it :) All this open xml is new to me as well, so I tried it in my Notepad and it is readable. I wondered if it autosaves as xml or not, but it sounds like you had success.
To see the file line numbers, from VIEW select STATUS BAR and then at the bottom of the window your line numbers follow the cursor placement
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: Lady of the Lake on August 24, 2017, 08:14:15 AM
Quote from: luvsmuzik on August 24, 2017, 07:37:29 AM
Wonderful work so far!

So glad you rescued it :) All this open xml is new to me as well, so I tried it in my Notepad and it is readable. I wondered if it autosaves as xml or not, but it sounds like you had success.
To see the file line numbers, from VIEW select STATUS BAR and then at the bottom of the window your line numbers follow the cursor placement


I tried this in Notepad....still no line numbers.  But if I remember correctly the XML editor that Fleetwood gave the link to, does.  I bookmarked the link in case I ever need to try it again.  Thanks again everyone. 
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: fleetwood on August 24, 2017, 08:34:11 AM
If you turn off Word Wrap first, then you can use the View and Status bar to show what line number your cursor is placed on.
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: luvsmuzik on August 24, 2017, 01:29:10 PM
O...I...C.... :)

Quote from: fleetwood on August 24, 2017, 08:34:11 AM
If you turn off Word Wrap first, then you can use the View and Status bar to show what line number your cursor is placed on.
Title: Re: The Sea
Post by: Ariel DK on August 25, 2017, 03:26:16 AM
You named the tgd file and every node in the project in english?
This problem can be cause when you rename a element of your scene with other languages