Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: Milla on June 24, 2010, 03:50:44 pm

Title: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Milla on June 24, 2010, 03:50:44 pm
The attached  pic was rendered in 1920x1440, which took some 8 hours. The pic has been compressed, but the problem is quite obvious even in low res.
Any suggestions what I did wrong? I have attached the .tgd if somebody wishes to see it.

/Milla
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Henry Blewer on June 24, 2010, 04:09:48 pm
What version of Terragen 2 are you using?
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Milla on June 24, 2010, 05:01:01 pm
V2.0
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Henry Blewer on June 24, 2010, 06:24:52 pm
Free version? Anyway, try moving the camera just a tiny bit. Or do a clip render of that location and patch the hole in a paint program.
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Milla on June 24, 2010, 06:45:53 pm
Good suggestions, thank you. I will try.
You more experienced users, would you say it is this a common phenomena when rendering high-resolution pics, that some areas is left out?
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Oshyan on June 25, 2010, 12:06:51 am
"Simple" is relative. A simple scene can be quite demanding of computer resources of the render settings are high. So what were your render settings and what are the details of your computer (especially operating system and memory)?

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Milla on June 25, 2010, 05:17:02 am
1920x1440

AA-8
detail - 0.86
you should be able to see this in the .tgd file which I attached, or am I wrong?

(I am aware that these are high settings and that this means is a lot of work for the computer even if the building-blocks for the scene are few)
 
Vista , Duo CPU 3.00Ghz, 4Gb memory.
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Oshyan on June 25, 2010, 02:31:59 pm
Sorry, didn't see the attached TGD. I see you also have rather high GI settings of 4/4, which in this scene probably aren't necessary. So it's quite possibly a memory issue. Did you get any errors or warnings? Are you running a 32 or 64 bit version of Vista?

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Milla on June 25, 2010, 05:06:33 pm
32-bit
Yes, I had one "Unknown error" while rendering. I will reduce the settings to conserve memory and try again
Thank you!
Title: Re: Incomplete rendering of simple scene
Post by: Oshyan on June 25, 2010, 06:29:25 pm
Yeah, not surprising on a 32 bit OS - you only have access to 2GB of memory per application (no matter how much physical memory you have). Fortunately settings that high are not particularly necessary, especially for the simplicity of your scene. AA 4-6 should suffice, detail 0.75, and GI 2/3 or so would give great quality and use less memory.

- Oshyan