Planetside Software Forums

General => Terragen Animation => Topic started by: JasonArcher on September 18, 2013, 07:53:47 am

Title: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: JasonArcher on September 18, 2013, 07:53:47 am
Hi All,

Please forgive me if this has already been asked and answered -- I looked a bit, but found myself short on time this morning -- but does anyone have some pointers on the current preferred method for getting Terragen 3 camera animation data into After Effects? I appreciate any help on this. Thanks!

-- Jason
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: dorianvan on September 18, 2013, 11:21:08 am
If you have access to 3D Max, export camera to that, then use Max to AE from Boomer labs. http://www.boomerlabs.com/cart/product.php?productid=8 
If you don't have 3d Max, maybe I can help you out (I have Max to AE as well). Let me know.
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: JasonArcher on September 18, 2013, 06:44:29 pm
Quote from: dorianvan on September 18, 2013, 11:21:08 am
If you have access to 3D Max, export camera to that, then use Max to AE from Boomer labs. http://www.boomerlabs.com/cart/product.php?productid=8 
If you don't have 3d Max, maybe I can help you out (I have Max to AE as well). Let me know.


Hi, and thank you. I have Max 2013 but don't have the plugin from Boomer Labs, unfortunately. Is there a T3 -> Maya -> AE workflow, by chance? Wondering if I could export the cam to fbx and do something that way.
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: dorianvan on September 18, 2013, 07:35:28 pm
Not sure about Maya.
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: jo on September 20, 2013, 12:17:50 am
Hi,

Sounds like FBX might be worth a try. There is documentation for FBX support here:

http://www.planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=FBX_Reference

Regards,

Jo
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: JasonArcher on September 20, 2013, 06:58:52 am
Quote from: jo on September 20, 2013, 12:17:50 am
Hi,

Sounds like FBX might be worth a try. There is documentation for FBX support here:

http://www.planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=FBX_Reference

Regards,

Jo


Hi Jo,

I've been testing out a FBX export to Maya and then into AE method but haven't been too successful so far. Camera animation data is exporting to Maya -- I see all 900 framed keyed -- but the motion that results isn't matching up with the motion in T3's camera. I've included a small clip attached to this message that shows the fbx motion applied to the stars. When taking the camera out of Maya, I adjusted the image size of the animation and checked to ensure that the focal length, angle of view and so on were correct. Still trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong. :/ I'm hoping it's just something simple that I'm overlooking.

Thanks,

Jason
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: digitalguru on September 20, 2013, 06:30:14 pm
try this for the export from TG3 to Maya:
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: JasonArcher on September 26, 2013, 06:44:35 am
Thank you all...

I ended up running the scene through Syntheyes to get a motion track into After Effects. Worked great. :)
Title: Re: Camera Data to After Effects
Post by: rcallicotte on October 21, 2013, 12:36:33 pm
Jason, thanks for the info.  I've been looking at Syntheyes and trying the demo.  Looks like a good community.


Quote from: JasonArcher on September 26, 2013, 06:44:35 am
Thank you all...

I ended up running the scene through Syntheyes to get a motion track into After Effects. Worked great. :)