Planetside Software Forums

Support => Terragen Support => Topic started by: mathieubr on January 18, 2014, 08:42:38 am

Title: Is using Normal Map possible in TG3?
Post by: mathieubr on January 18, 2014, 08:42:38 am
Hi!
I was wondering if there was a way to use Normal Maps for displacement in TG3. I guess it is possible to use it as a traditional bump map, but is there a node or a function that allows to use the real data from a normal map ?
Thxs
Title: Re: Is using Normal Map possible in TG3?
Post by: Oshyan on January 18, 2014, 11:59:05 pm
Terragen can't use Normal Maps directly, but you *may* depending on the format it's stored in (e.g. multi-channel RGB), you could potentially make use of it by splitting out the individual channels to grayscale and use to drive displacement. It may be easier and more predictable to convert to a simpler bump/displacement map beforehand, though of course you potentially lose some quality/accuracy that way.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Is using Normal Map possible in TG3?
Post by: alessandro on January 27, 2014, 11:04:42 am
It'd be great if use of normal maps could be implemented directly.