Planetside Software Forums

General => File Sharing => Topic started by: AP on August 21, 2016, 10:23:29 PM

Title: Rock
Post by: AP on August 21, 2016, 10:23:29 PM
Ten different types of rock. Based on current experiments.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: bobbystahr on August 22, 2016, 11:18:26 PM
Ten different types of rock. Based on current experiments.

An embaeassment of riches with rocks today. I also uploaded a link to 10 .obj rocks over at renderosity, heh heh...then I noticed this and now I have 20 new rocks.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: AP on August 22, 2016, 11:43:13 PM
One can never have enough rock.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: masonspappy on August 22, 2016, 11:56:39 PM
Nice collection. Thanks!
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: AP on August 23, 2016, 11:24:53 PM
You are welcome. Hopefully what is there allows room for much experimentation. I still have it in mind to share the one hundred or so functions, hopefully that will follow soon.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: luvsmuzik on August 25, 2016, 06:42:55 PM
One can never have enough rock.

I second that! Thankyou!
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: luvsmuzik on December 04, 2016, 08:21:45 PM
I will ask here because it is shared here. I have no problem adding a single rock from this share. How would one make a population from this? I tried to import my own sphere to use for a population and attach a modified clip version (starting with everything but the original sphere) as displacement function to default shader but for me it is not working.  I also tried the TG rock population. My clip distorts a fake stone shader but does not replicate your displacement.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: Oshyan on December 05, 2016, 12:32:30 AM
As far as I know these are using Fake Stones or other Displacement, they are not *objects*. Only objects can be populated. So the answer is you can't populate these rock shader networks.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: bobbystahr on December 05, 2016, 03:23:18 AM
As far as I know these are using Fake Stones or other Displacement, they are not *objects*. Only objects can be populated. So the answer is you can't populate these rock shader networks.

- Oshyan

I opened one in note pad and saw Sphere, will take it to my tg computer and check it out


rock 1 is a sphere...so all likely are and Spheres can't be populated

but the ones I uploaded are all .objs so can be populated.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: N-drju on December 05, 2016, 06:04:28 AM
Yes, it's a pity native rocks cannot be populated. Why? :(

They offer great variety and can make for good rocks in a "standalone" mode. Much better than the "rock" native object if you ask me...
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: luvsmuzik on December 05, 2016, 11:36:55 AM
These files are wonderful examples of displacement. I shall study that part, at least. But they sure would be nice in a population. ;D

Thanks @ Bobby Stahr for checking that. I can make an imported sphere population. Would the proper way to make a clip of just the displacement be to box select the nodes, all but the sphere? I tried that, but in a population I do not get much but something resembling a sputnick.

Title: Re: Rock
Post by: Oshyan on December 06, 2016, 01:42:10 AM
You can't populate native *displaceable* objects of any kind (including rocks). That's the limitation. It's related to the overall issue with ray tracing of displacement, I believe.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: luvsmuzik on December 06, 2016, 12:15:02 PM
Thank you Oshyan for the final answer. A patient person with TG creative or Pro could add these at their leisure. Wonderful share regardless!
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: AP on December 06, 2016, 12:37:29 PM
When I built these rocks, they were more meant to be hero rocks. It is a shame they can not be populated, perhaps someday. I am working on a number of Fake stone shaders so those will cover an entire planet in this case. I want to provide at least twenty or thirty different types of stones. I am halfway finished as of current.
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: Matt on December 06, 2016, 11:12:38 PM
You can't populate native *displaceable* objects of any kind (including rocks). That's the limitation. It's related to the overall issue with ray tracing of displacement, I believe.

- Oshyan

You can populate the built-in Rock object because it's one of the populatable types, not the fully displaceable type. But if you're building rocks from built-in spheres, they can't be populated yet.

Matt
Title: Re: Rock
Post by: luvsmuzik on December 06, 2016, 11:21:54 PM
You can't populate native *displaceable* objects of any kind (including rocks). That's the limitation. It's related to the overall issue with ray tracing of displacement, I believe.

- Oshyan

You can populate the built-in Rock object because it's one of the populatable types, not the fully displaceable type. But if you're building rocks from built-in spheres, they can't be populated yet.

Matt

That is why I initially questioned this Matt. I did not understand why you could assign # of faces and subdivide and shatter the built in rock object and populate it, but not somehow attach APs displacements. I will accept that it cannot be done after all these great answers, but I was curious. Sounds like we shall have more wonderful stuff soon.