Planetside Software Forums

General => Terragen Animation => Topic started by: masonspappy on February 19, 2017, 12:18:59 AM

Title: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 19, 2017, 12:18:59 AM
The most I've done with animation was confined to drawing stick figures in page margins, then flipping the pages to get 'animation'.  But last Tuesday I realized I needed a turntable of 38 images for some of my 3D models, so I've spent five days trying to figure out how  TG4 animation works.  Still needs work and it's a bit dark,  but finally managed to get this far at least.

https://vimeo.com/204723393





Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Dune on February 19, 2017, 06:08:21 AM
You're on your way then. What will you be using it for, selling the sleigh?
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 19, 2017, 01:16:30 PM
You're on your way then. What will you be using it for, selling the sleigh?
Eventually, yes.  But the sleigh model needs (a lot of)  cleaning up first.  First up for sale will likely be be Farmer's buggy below.  It's gone through a lot of scrubbing and meets turbosquid specifications (at least as far as I can tell).  The turntable view is a requirement so that's how I wound up here. The turntable TGD is saved now as a 'template', meaning that I can prop any object into it, scale it, and then quickly create the 360 degree panorama.
At least that's the plan. It's eye-opening how many things can go wrong in this process.  ::)
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on February 19, 2017, 09:22:23 PM
Are you pasting stills into a timeline editor (manually changing the camera each time) or setting up a scene to have your camera pan the object in a 360 path? I will never forget my first Terragen animation, raising the sun manually in tiny increments for frames to paste into an editor to create a sunrise, such fun!
Are your turntable clips limited on size (resolution) or length (time)?
Wonderful object btw!
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 20, 2017, 12:01:20 AM
Thanks Luvsmuzik.
I have a TGD with 36 camera positions predefined. Just load the target object (it should load at ground 0, so it's centered within the ring of camera stops. then under "Renderers > sequence output tab" I check 'extra output images', and  ensure Output Image Filename and extra output images point to something other than the default directories. Make sure the "sequence last" value is equal to the total number of images you want to produce.  Then click 'Render Sequence'  and wait for it to finsh the sequnce. When that's done i pull all the images into PSP 7 (very antiquated but it works) and create a movie. Goal was not to produce a smooth transition between frames, but to give prospective buyers an opportunity to examine the object from all angles.  Each image is rendered at 1200x1200. but it could be scaled up or down.
I included the TGD here - it's probably crude by other people's standards but the only way I could figure out how to make it work.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on February 20, 2017, 04:15:34 AM
My TG version is free...but can you also key the sun to the same movement (stops) to avoid  being overly dark? We used to script moving sun and clouds, I reckon  you can do the same now?  Key the sun, not script.
Yes I have done many in PSP5,6,7 fun stuff
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Dune on February 20, 2017, 06:10:30 AM
And what if you use more GI or some fill lights (to avoid dark crevices and shadows) and just turn the object 360 with a steady cam? Just one thing to animate...
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: j meyer on February 20, 2017, 02:41:09 PM
A large plane object with e.g. sand and gras colors, invisible to the camera,
could be another way to get some more light.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 20, 2017, 04:27:18 PM
And what if you use more GI or some fill lights (to avoid dark crevices and shadows) and just turn the object 360 with a steady cam? Just one thing to animate...

Keeping steady cam while moving the object was my first option.  Problem is that I could never figure out how to automate it, and I'll be doing this enough that automation is pretty much a necessity.  That's when I went with the movable camera idea.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Dune on February 21, 2017, 07:05:21 AM
I think you just need to put the object down, set the number of frames, animate the Y rotation of the object to 360 in the last frame.

here's something I just setup  ;)  ;D
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 21, 2017, 08:09:40 AM
 ;D ;D ;D
Thanks Dune, I'll download and give it a whirl
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 21, 2017, 03:27:22 PM
Dune, I think I get it now, after studying your turntable for rotating the object, not the camera.  Was able to load up one of my objects and set up the turntable from scratch and seems to work fine.
Thanks!!!!!
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: dorianvan on February 22, 2017, 04:27:34 PM
What program did you create the object in?
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on February 22, 2017, 08:19:53 PM
What program did you create the object in?
Created in Blender, the ultimate free and open source 3D creation suite, which has no known equal.
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

And, it's free.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on February 24, 2017, 06:44:24 PM
Perhaps when you get the hang of this.....you could do a short zoom animation (mimic a walk) in your parsonage scence in TG?


Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 02, 2017, 07:07:36 PM
Perhaps when you get the hang of this.....you could do a short zoom animation (mimic a walk) in your parsonage scence in TG?

Don't think I can claim I've actually got the hang of it but I'm trying...
Just remember I'm a newbie at this.   :)
First video is parsonage scene as per Luvsmuzik's request.   It's kind of jerky and needs higher resolution (I think)
https://vimeo.com/211205441
Second video is just  a quickie test
https://vimeo.com/210908300
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Oshyan on April 02, 2017, 07:27:33 PM
Not bad at all for your first animation experiences. For quick tests in the future I would suggest 2D motion blur rather than 3D, it renders faster and would give better apparent quality in this lower detail render.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on April 04, 2017, 02:17:46 PM
Now you have the "bug", good job! I hope it didn't take days to render?  :)
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 04, 2017, 02:41:03 PM
Now you have the "bug", good job! I hope it didn't take days to render?  :)
The first one didn't take that long, but the followup render is higher resolution, more frames, more complex path and is approaching 27 hours. Should be done by tomorrow morning.  :o
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 05, 2017, 12:39:29 PM
ok, 2nd rendering time was 45 hours (   :o  ), 360 frames and higher resolution. Camera path is a bit more complicated and seems more reminiscent  of a drone tooling around the premises than a person walking around.
Between frames 261-312 the tree shadow on the side of the church abruptly disappears.  I'm assuming this is result of "clip to camera" setting. Also some flickering seen through church windows in final 5-6 frames.
All feedback welcome and appreciated.

https://vimeo.com/211662352


Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: dorianvan on April 05, 2017, 02:43:46 PM
Nice job and nice environment. You could do one awesome turntable environment with a flat ground and great background, then render it high quality circling around a point. Then export the camera and import into Blender (set up same sun position) and render your objects one at a time in HR with a shadow map (if Blender can do it). Then put them together in post with After Effects, Premiere, or something. That might save you lots of rendering time.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Oshyan on April 05, 2017, 07:02:17 PM
The shadow disappearing is probably not due to Clip to Camera, unless that one tree next to the church is actually a member of a population for some reason. Clip to Camera only affects populations, and only the members of that *specific* population with it enabled.

More likely it is due to the camera view clipping of geometry for shadows which can be overridden in the Render Node Advanced settings tab under "Ray detail region padding". In your case since the object ends up directly behind the camera you would need at least 360 degree detail, try "optimal" first, and if that's not enough use Highest.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on April 05, 2017, 07:08:45 PM
All in all, very good! I didn't hit any trees or walls this time! You are picking this up quick and doing great.  :)
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: DocCharly65 on April 05, 2017, 09:47:21 PM
More likely it is due to the camera view clipping of geometry for shadows which can be overridden in the Render Node Advanced settings tab under "Ray detail region padding". In your case since the object ends up directly behind the camera you would need at least 360 degree detail, try "optimal" first, and if that's not enough use Highest.

That was my first idea, too.

Anyway a very nice animation for a "newbee" (can't believe that) :)
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 06, 2017, 02:19:02 AM
Thanks all for your feedback and encouragement.  Plan to get back to animation stuff when I can, but got a few chores for the rendering box first.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Matt on April 06, 2017, 10:12:02 PM
More likely it is due to the camera view clipping of geometry for shadows which can be overridden in the Render Node Advanced settings tab under "Ray detail region padding".

Nah, that only affects the subdivision of displaceable surfaces such as terrain. It wouldn't make a tree's shadow disappear.
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 07, 2017, 12:26:28 AM
So here's what I'm seeing:  I unticked the "Clip to Camera" setting on the tree populations and re-rendered the part where the tree shadow disappeared.  The shadow no longer disappears but now I'm actually moving through some of the tree branches.  Didn't realize that before.  Guess I need to be more carefull.
On a related note, Grandson Mason wants me to make a video of a plane flying above the trees or a spaceship being launched.  Told him I might consider if he lets me beat him in a game of chess.  ;D
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Oshyan on April 07, 2017, 06:18:01 AM
If you replace that one tree with a non-populated version then it should solve the problem, I would think (I assume it's part of a population due to the way it responded to turning off clip to camera, and you never actually addressed that question as far as I saw).

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: masonspappy on April 07, 2017, 07:26:14 AM
If you replace that one tree with a non-populated version then it should solve the problem, I would think (I assume it's part of a population due to the way it responded to turning off clip to camera, and you never actually addressed that question as far as I saw).

- Oshyan
You're right -  the tree was part of a population. So I edited the pop, deleted the problematic tree and replaced it with a standalone tree and now it works fine.   Thanks for the guidance!
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: Oshyan on April 08, 2017, 06:59:15 AM
Ahhh, glad to have the mystery solved. :D

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Turntable
Post by: luvsmuzik on April 10, 2017, 02:27:41 PM
On a related note, Grandson Mason wants me to make a video of a plane flying above the trees or a spaceship being launched.  Told him I might consider if he lets me beat him in a game of chess.  ;D

The trick here is to have him design the plane or spaceship. :)