Planetside Software Forums

General => Image Sharing => Topic started by: luvsmuzik on July 09, 2017, 11:33:02 am

Title: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on July 09, 2017, 11:33:02 am
This is a shared tgd,  glowing sun. I am almost positive shared by Dune. So many of these files have shares dwelling in other projects...I could not find the source with a simple search, but I will try to find.
Accidental Stars post gets it:
http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=19283.0;attach=53933

I want to decrease the light source strength on the sun just a tad, but hey....I probably threw it off by increasing camera exposure :)

pachalmars nebula background clip again
nebula and stars
http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,2017.msg19724.html#msg19724
This time I bypassed the color adjust, changed the color, and rotated the global coverage. :) (with a transform input,world position)
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on July 09, 2017, 02:01:45 pm
version 2
sun planet haze height increase and masked
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on April 29, 2018, 02:05:44 pm
Here is the correct link for Dune's Glowing Sun tgd  :) This is the file download  :)

https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=19283.0;attach=53933
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: N-drju on April 30, 2018, 02:47:55 am
Looks very nice. In some near future I want to create something like this too, only up-close. :)
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on April 30, 2018, 12:40:50 pm
Thanks N-drju!

If one atmosphere is good add another!
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on May 01, 2018, 03:43:12 pm
Quote from: N-drju on April 30, 2018, 02:47:55 am
Looks very nice. In some near future I want to create something like this too, only up-close. :)


Planet with a luminous surface perhaps and a global cloud may yield interesting results, if not a hidden planet and cloud layer with internal light source.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on May 01, 2018, 04:40:25 pm
That is what gives the red orange look now 2 cloud layers with a strong light source. There is now a link to ground level fiery clouds in Scene from the Observatory post. Sort of done like an aurora, stretch the y axis and mask .
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on May 02, 2018, 09:57:41 pm
Here's my go, based on the original glowing sun file I had help on years ago.

As a TG Free user the first thing I do is up atmosphere quality to 32 instead of 16. Oshyan has mentioned no one should need to change this, but despite maximum settings of MPD 0.6 and AA 6 your atmosphere will be grainy in TG free. Two Atmosphere causes additional graining I've noticed. You can just place with the haze densities.

I'm not happy with the falloff on the ejection, would like to be more gradual. This is also internally illuminated, sun is deleted.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on May 02, 2018, 10:18:09 pm
Quote from: WASasquatch on May 02, 2018, 09:57:41 pm
Here's my go, based on the original glowing sun file I had help on years ago.

As a TG Free user the first thing I do is up atmosphere quality to 32 instead of 16. Oshyan has mentioned no one should need to change this, but despite maximum settings of MPD 0.6 and AA 6 your atmosphere will be grainy in TG free. Two Atmosphere causes additional graining I've noticed. You can just place with the haze densities.

I'm not happy with the falloff on the ejection, would like to be more gradual. This is also internally illuminated, sun is deleted.

Nice job! As I said before, I go for the look and then attempt to imitate. I have some understanding of which you speak, but some is way over my depth of understanding. I absorb what I can and try to learn. How are you using the Raw images? I see it is a mask of sort....???
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on May 02, 2018, 10:30:29 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on May 02, 2018, 10:18:09 pm
Quote from: WASasquatch on May 02, 2018, 09:57:41 pm
Here's my go, based on the original glowing sun file I had help on years ago.

As a TG Free user the first thing I do is up atmosphere quality to 32 instead of 16. Oshyan has mentioned no one should need to change this, but despite maximum settings of MPD 0.6 and AA 6 your atmosphere will be grainy in TG free. Two Atmosphere causes additional graining I've noticed. You can just place with the haze densities.

I'm not happy with the falloff on the ejection, would like to be more gradual. This is also internally illuminated, sun is deleted.

Nice job! As I said before, I go for the look and then attempt to imitate. I have some understanding of which you speak, but some is way over my depth of understanding. I absorb what I can and try to learn. How are you using the Raw images? I see it is a mask of sort....???


I actually was planning on rendering out manual frames and assembling a pulsing star in After Effects, just an idea, but was planning for it. Having no animation control it'll be pretty static but just wanted to fiddle and try new things.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on May 02, 2018, 10:36:28 pm
You could, couldn't you? Just a few frames and repeat....it isn't like you are moving something light years....

I meant to ask somebody about this...like should be possible to blink a light on and off...another day...

Too funny, Years ago when I had no clue about script animaion, I elevated the sun 1 degree per render for 100 little frames and made what I thought was the cutest gif in the whole world
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: Oshyan on May 03, 2018, 03:47:06 pm
I'm pretty sure I never said "no one should need to change atmosphere samples", just that under most *normal* circumstances* (i.e. daytime Earth-like atmosphere), and using Defer Atmo, it should not need to be changed much from 16. But... your situation is far from normal. ;) And given you're on the free version you can't increase AA with Defer to compensate, so increasing Atmo samples makes sense.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: sboerner on May 03, 2018, 03:54:30 pm
QuoteHere's my go, based on the original glowing sun file I had help on years ago.


This is cool. Definitely something I can make use of, too.

QuoteHere is the correct link for Dune's Glowing Sun tgd


Thanks for posting!
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on May 03, 2018, 05:31:24 pm
Quote from: Oshyan on May 03, 2018, 03:47:06 pm
I'm pretty sure I never said "no one should need to change atmosphere samples", just that under most *normal* circumstances* (i.e. daytime Earth-like atmosphere), and using Defer Atmo, it should not need to be changed much from 16. But... your situation is far from normal. ;) And given you're on the free version you can't increase AA with Defer to compensate, so increasing Atmo samples makes sense.

- Oshyan


I believe that's exactly what "Should not" means. Under normal circumstances. Always my understanding. Should is by far from definite. And I'm pretty sure that's exactly what you said, you should not need to change the atmosphere samples, and went on to explain what you just did, though more elaborately about defer and quality settings.

I definitely up the samples to get a smooth atmosphere, since at AA6 it's noisy under normal circumstances.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:18:55 pm
Are there any tutorials on how to create a sun?
It's probably going to be my first project in Terragen. I need to be able to adjust settings so it looks like a dying sun (fading). So I end up with two versions.
I am currently inspecting luvsmuzik's "Glowing sun.tgd" to try and work out the process he went through to produce his sun.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on September 13, 2018, 05:36:01 pm
Quote from: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:18:55 pm
Are there any tutorials on how to create a sun?
It's probably going to be my first project in Terragen. I need to be able to adjust settings so it looks like a dying sun (fading). So I end up with two versions.
I am currently inspecting luvsmuzik's "Glowing sun.tgd" to try and work out the process he went through to produce his sun.


Take a look at my file share for a glowing sun with prominence: https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,24436.0.html
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:44:32 pm
Wow, thanks WASasquatch.
Apologies for not finding this earlier.
I'll take a look....
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:48:34 pm
I just got 79 warnings - unknown parameters. Is this due to me having Terragen 3?
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on September 13, 2018, 06:31:29 pm
Quote from: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:18:55 pm
Are there any tutorials on how to create a sun?
It's probably going to be my first project in Terragen. I need to be able to adjust settings so it looks like a dying sun (fading). So I end up with two versions.
I am currently inspecting luvsmuzik's "Glowing sun.tgd" to try and work out the process he went through to produce his sun.

>luvsmuzik< Thanks for the interest in this file MakeurMARK. I cannot take the credit for the tgd download, this was first a Dune/Ulco file share.
Here is another one from Kadri that is interesting.   https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,8504.msg90732.html#msg90732     
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on September 13, 2018, 06:48:38 pm
Quote from: MakeurMARK on September 13, 2018, 05:48:34 pm
I just got 79 warnings - unknown parameters. Is this due to me having Terragen 3?


Yes, this that project is likely not compatible without swapping cloud models. I believe the one Luvs linked should work.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: mhaze on September 17, 2018, 04:37:55 am
Some amazing work in this thread!
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 17, 2018, 05:09:12 pm
I'm working my way through the setup for the glowing sun and learning loads.
Can anyone please help and explain how you get a "cloud layer inner" and "cloud layer outer" into the planet directory under the Object tab?
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: Dune on September 18, 2018, 02:19:11 am
Ìf I understand you query well, you should rightclick on the node 'sun' and internally you'll find the two cloud layers. If you want to move cloudlayers from outside the sun node to inside, CTRL-C the cloud nodes, go inside the 'container node' (in this case: sun) and CTRL+V.
I hope this solves your problem.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 10:47:10 am
Quote from: Dune on September 18, 2018, 02:19:11 am
Ìf I understand you query well, you should rightclick on the node 'sun' and internally you'll find the two cloud layers. If you want to move cloudlayers from outside the sun node to inside, CTRL-C the cloud nodes, go inside the 'container node' (in this case: sun) and CTRL+V.
I hope this solves your problem.


Wow...thanks Ulco, I did not know this....Just tried this and it's an empty page, or did I do something wrong. Only option I see is the empty Internal network
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on September 18, 2018, 11:24:54 am
Quote from: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 10:47:10 am
Quote from: Dune on September 18, 2018, 02:19:11 am
Ìf I understand you query well, you should rightclick on the node 'sun' and internally you'll find the two cloud layers. If you want to move cloudlayers from outside the sun node to inside, CTRL-C the cloud nodes, go inside the 'container node' (in this case: sun) and CTRL+V.
I hope this solves your problem.


Wow...thanks Ulco, I did not know this....Just tried this and it's an empty page, or did I do something wrong. Only option I see is the empty Internal network


Sun OBJECT internal has the cloud layers bobbystahr
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: Agura Nata on September 18, 2018, 12:33:45 pm
Awesome work my friend!
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 01:38:16 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on September 18, 2018, 11:24:54 am
Quote from: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 10:47:10 am
Quote from: Dune on September 18, 2018, 02:19:11 am
Ìf I understand you query well, you should rightclick on the node 'sun' and internally you'll find the two cloud layers. If you want to move cloudlayers from outside the sun node to inside, CTRL-C the cloud nodes, go inside the 'container node' (in this case: sun) and CTRL+V.
I hope this solves your problem.


Wow...thanks Ulco, I did not know this....Just tried this and it's an empty page, or did I do something wrong. Only option I see is the empty Internal network


Sun OBJECT internal has the cloud layers bobbystahr


So what's the difference tween the Sun and a Sun OBJECT...I seem to have lost that page.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 18, 2018, 01:45:58 pm
Just to confirm before I move on: the sun is a planet that I rename as sun, correct?
Sorry, thanks for all the advise, brilliant.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on September 18, 2018, 03:02:14 pm
Quote from: MakeurMARK on September 18, 2018, 01:45:58 pm
Just to confirm before I move on: the sun is a planet that I rename as sun, correct?
Sorry, thanks for all the advise, brilliant.


Correct. That is how the files I rendered are done.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on September 18, 2018, 03:04:26 pm
Quote from: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 01:38:16 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on September 18, 2018, 11:24:54 am
Quote from: bobbystahr on September 18, 2018, 10:47:10 am
Quote from: Dune on September 18, 2018, 02:19:11 am
Ìf I understand you query well, you should rightclick on the node 'sun' and internally you'll find the two cloud layers. If you want to move cloudlayers from outside the sun node to inside, CTRL-C the cloud nodes, go inside the 'container node' (in this case: sun) and CTRL+V.
I hope this solves your problem.


Wow...thanks Ulco, I did not know this....Just tried this and it's an empty page, or did I do something wrong. Only option I see is the empty Internal network


Sun OBJECT internal has the cloud layers bobbystahr


So what's the difference tween the Sun and a Sun OBJECT...I seem to have lost that page.


Yes, planet renamed Sun (for adding atmo and clouds)....as opposed to a light source Sun
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on September 18, 2018, 03:31:27 pm
Also, I'll convert that Prominence project over to V2 clouds. May not look the same due to lighting models though.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 20, 2018, 09:03:22 am
Thanks to everyone for your help and advice.

Attached are the results of playing with settings inside Terragen to produce a sun.
I have a couple of questions following my journey, before I pop over to the planetside website to upgrade to version 4.

How on earth does one reach the conclusion that two cloud layers need to be located inside an object node? Is it to avoid the two cloud layers being applied to all planets in the work space?

What does the e+ or e- in location and scale represent?

Noticed that adjusting settings also changed the structure of Planet 01. Is it through the node system that you would isolate setting for individual planets? Got a happy accident from it though, but as I need to create 5 planets and a sun I need to control settings for each planet.

I'm struggling to work out how the light system works. Surely if you create a sun you want the light source to come from the sun. I still have the following lights enabled - Enviro light and Sunlight, as well as the light source 01 which has been located in the same co-ordinates as the sun planet (object).

Would the procedure of creating this sun be made any easier by using Terragen version 4.0?

Finally - is there any way I can save my adjusted settings as personal presets, so i could perhaps load into Terragen 4.0?

Thanks again everyone...
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on September 20, 2018, 10:10:46 am
Just a hobbyist answer  :)

In Terragen, as far as I know the only object you can assign an atmosphere to is a planet. The atmosphere, along with your isolated lighting gives you the glow effect surrounding your planet (sun object) If you want atmosphere for your planet, you must use the planet object.

The cloud layers try to replicate plasma burst or "hot spots" known to exist in Earth's sun. You can control cloud density, lighting, coverage as opposed to just a power fractal surface for planet terrain.

The e+ or e- represent great distance or scale. For example. if you place a sphere object in the sky above your terrain in the distance, you will see at a scale of 1, you probably will only see a small object bounding box and your object coordinates will probably contain e values. Therefore, you would increase the scale of your sphere object accordingly, probably on a e+ scale.

You should be able to save your planet sun object as a tgo, or make a tgc (clip) of your internal cloud and atmosphere nodes (saving accordingly, like planetsunglow.tgc. Clip saved, transfer to new TG4. I have mine saved in document folders so they are not lost when reinstalling new versions. I have named folders for clips, terrain, cloud, atmosphere, projects, objects all under a Terragen file in Documents. As long as I use the same computer, my directories are then valid in older projects on same unit if I transfer a project (tgd) from an older version.

This again is only my opinion.

You learn fast and these are great images!  :)
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: MakeurMARK on September 20, 2018, 11:20:49 am
Thanks luv

You know more than me, thanks for the advice, much appreciated.
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: Oshyan on September 23, 2018, 06:44:33 pm
Quote from: MakeurMARK on September 20, 2018, 09:03:22 am
<snip>
I have a couple of questions following my journey, before I pop over to the planetside website to upgrade to version 4.

How on earth does one reach the conclusion that two cloud layers need to be located inside an object node? Is it to avoid the two cloud layers being applied to all planets in the work space?


This was almost certainly a choice made by the creator simply for keeping the "sun" setup neat and tidy. Putting nodes inside other nodes mostly does not affect how the nodes work, it's just an organizational method. That being said, secondary planets do always start out with their atmosphere and shading nodes internal to the Planet Object. Again this is just an organizational difference, it doesn't fundamentally affect how the rendering or other settings for the planet actually work. The intention in making this the default for additional planets was just to keep the main planet's network as the focus, on the assumption that additional planets are secondary and will have less detail, fewer nodes, etc.

Quote
What does the e+ or e- in location and scale represent?


This is one way of representing very large (or very small) numbers in scientific notation. The more common approach you may be familiar with is 1 x 104, where the 4 indicates the number of decimal places, i.e. 0s, so that would be 10,000. Since we can't easily do superscript in a text entry field, we use the less common but still valid E notation. So in E notation 10,000 would be 1e+004.

Quote
Noticed that adjusting settings also changed the structure of Planet 01. Is it through the node system that you would isolate setting for individual planets? Got a happy accident from it though, but as I need to create 5 planets and a sun I need to control settings for each planet.


It really depends on what settings you're adjusting for the planet. I am guessing you changed the *position* though (or rotation), and got an unexpected change in the shape. This would be because the shape is being generated by a 3D noise function, and the displacement (i.e. mountains) on the planet show the shapes that are present at the intersection between the planet's surface and the noise generator *at that precise point in 3D space*. If you move the planet, the noise generator does not move with it by default, so what you are effectively doing is moving the surface of the planet relative to the noise generator, and thus you get different shapes as the planet surface now intersects the noise function in a different place where there are *different shapes*. If you want to avoid this, just enable Translate Textures With Planet and Rotate Textures With Planet in the Planet Object's settings.

If it was some other setting you changed that caused an unexpected effect, you'll need to provide more detail (what setting(s) you changed).

Quote
I'm struggling to work out how the light system works. Surely if you create a sun you want the light source to come from the sun. I still have the following lights enabled - Enviro light and Sunlight, as well as the light source 01 which has been located in the same co-ordinates as the sun planet (object).


The"sun" that was created *using a planet* is not actually a "sun" as far as Terragen is concerned. It's just named "sun". The names of nodes have no functional effect, they're just names. What you are doing is using a planet to make a visible and customizable sun, because the *actual* Terragen sun doesn't have those capabilities. Since you're not actually using the sun (light source) that is built-in to Terragen, you need to create and modify a separate light source along with any movement of the "sun" (planet) object. Basically it's a workaround.

The actual sun light source provides a specific type of "distance" (parallel) light source, but it does not have a specific position in 3D space, only a rotation and and altitude. You can still use this to line up with your "sun" planet, simply by eye, and it's the most appropriate light source to use for a sun anyway.

Quote
Would the procedure of creating this sun be made any easier by using Terragen version 4.0?


Not that I can think of. Except that there are new post process effects like glow and "starburst" that might make it look more realistic.

Quote
Finally - is there any way I can save my adjusted settings as personal presets, so i could perhaps load into Terragen 4.0?


luvsmusic covers this pretty well, except how to actually create clip files. ;) From the main page of the Wiki documentation:
http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Working_with_Clip_Files
And:
http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Create_Clip_File_Dialog

I hope that helps. :)

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 10:37:51 am
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/best-space-photos-of-2018/ss-BBNN0Xy?ocid=spartandhp#image=22

Another look
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on October 01, 2018, 02:32:21 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 10:37:51 am
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/best-space-photos-of-2018/ss-BBNN0Xy?ocid=spartandhp#image=22

Another look


Why on EARTH would they deceive you a few clicks in to go look at "The News in Cartoons" (literally changed the Next button into a link to another page). I was viewing a space gallery. Holy crap. Literally just put MSN on my block list so I don't have to deal with them again. Deceptive web development to steer clicks. Hoooman.

Cool first two pictures though....
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 04:18:37 pm
Quote from: WASasquatch on October 01, 2018, 02:32:21 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 10:37:51 am
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/best-space-photos-of-2018/ss-BBNN0Xy?ocid=spartandhp#image=22

Another look


Why on EARTH would they deceive you a few clicks in to go look at "The News in Cartoons" (literally changed the Next button into a link to another page). I was viewing a space gallery. Holy crap. Literally just put MSN on my block list so I don't have to deal with them again. Deceptive web development to steer clicks. Hoooman.

Cool first two pictures though....

I do not know what browser you use. I was viewing with Edge atm. It was a series of 25 images (2018 best space images) I was viewing a slide show and the sun glow as 22 or 23. This was near the end.  When I am on image 25, mouse over gives me the next link and perhaps the "News in Cartoons" was up next in rotation. Come on, really....it was not my intention to lead you into some sort of trap. I was guided there from a link in my email, because of my NASA browsing history probably, not sure. These little machines try to think for us, finding what they think we will like. LOL do you browse political cartoons? Maybe it was today's hot topic.  So SORRY!
Title: Re: Sun glowing
Post by: WAS on October 01, 2018, 04:46:36 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 04:18:37 pm
Quote from: WASasquatch on October 01, 2018, 02:32:21 pm
Quote from: luvsmuzik on October 01, 2018, 10:37:51 am
https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/best-space-photos-of-2018/ss-BBNN0Xy?ocid=spartandhp#image=22

Another look


Why on EARTH would they deceive you a few clicks in to go look at "The News in Cartoons" (literally changed the Next button into a link to another page). I was viewing a space gallery. Holy crap. Literally just put MSN on my block list so I don't have to deal with them again. Deceptive web development to steer clicks. Hoooman.

Cool first two pictures though....

I do not know what browser you use. I was viewing with Edge atm. It was a series of 25 images (2018 best space images) I was viewing a slide show and the sun glow as 22 or 23. This was near the end.  When I am on image 25, mouse over gives me the next link and perhaps the "News in Cartoons" was up next in rotation. Come on, really....it was not my intention to lead you into some sort of trap. I was guided there from a link in my email, because of my NASA browsing history probably, not sure. These little machines try to think for us, finding what they think we will like. LOL do you browse political cartoons? Maybe it was today's hot topic.  So SORRY!


No ill-intent towards you at all, all meant towards MSN.  As a web developer when I see intrusive designs like that I get annoyed. Though I do see the link was linked to the 22 image.