Planetside Software Forums

General => Terragen Discussion => Topic started by: leopoldmaz on March 15, 2019, 07:04:55 pm

Title: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 15, 2019, 07:04:55 pm
Hi all, I am new to terragen and I am trying to create a flat round plane surrounded by a round cliff boundary. I tried to use disc to define the cliff, but I think this is completely wrong. Any ideas?
Thanks!
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Dune on March 16, 2019, 02:22:33 am
Welcome to the forum. This is very simply set up, so here's a start. The edge width in the simple shape shader defines the steepness of the cliff. With the fractal warp you can easily alter the roundness by the scale and warp amount.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 16, 2019, 10:21:21 am
Just what I would have posted...
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 18, 2019, 01:59:34 pm
Thank you so much Dune and bobbystahr, it is super helpful. Now i will try to add some colors, snowed mountains and clouds.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 18, 2019, 06:10:49 pm
Alright, TG4 is quite amazing. So I was able to add sun and nice clouds and now I am working on getting grass patches done. But what I cannot wrap my head around is how to add mountains outside of the flat surface. When I add fractal terrain or heightfield it affects the whole surface while I am interested in keeping the circular area flat. Any ideas?
Thanks!
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 18, 2019, 08:31:52 pm
Look at how  the Default scene is created and use that method.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 18, 2019, 08:51:44 pm
Yes, I think it worked! I just now start to realize how powerful it is to work directly through the nodes. Btw, it there a way to change a specific mountain or a specific cloud without affecting the rest?
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 18, 2019, 11:48:15 pm
Quote from: leopoldmaz on March 18, 2019, 08:51:44 pm
Yes, I think it worked! I just now start to realize how powerful it is to work directly through the nodes. Btw, it there a way to change a specific mountain or a specific cloud without affecting the rest?


well you could choose an area and the put a Simple Shape shader of the size of area you want to change and mask out what's there and then using the reverse masking mask in what you want or just use the SS shader to apply changes to the area...
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: D.A. Bentley on March 19, 2019, 12:20:48 am
Quote from: leopoldmaz on March 18, 2019, 08:51:44 pm
Btw, it there a way to change a specific mountain or a specific cloud without affecting the rest?


Hey Leapold!  For Clouds, there is an easy way to make small (or large) controllable individual clouds by using the "Localise" option within the cloud settings.  The Easy cloud type has Localise on by default, and it can't be turned off for that cloud type because it is render intensive it is best to use one, or smaller patches.  There is also Cloud layer v2, and Cloud layer v3, but as you probably have figured out you won't know which type of cloud you are creating from the "Add Cloud Layer" menu until after it is created and you look in the Node Editor / Network View.  You can also manually create Cloud layers, and all other shaders/nodes from the Network/Node View by right clicking and using the pop-up context menu.  Clouds are under "Create Atmosphere".

When you use the Localize/"Localise" feature you set a radius, so think of it as setting a mask in the shape of a circle that limits how far your cloud will reach out from the origin of the cloud coordinate center.

Hope that helps a little!

-Derek
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 19, 2019, 01:42:44 pm
Thank you, this is very helpful all your comments! I think I made quite nice good grass and the scene looks not bad now :)
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Dune on March 20, 2019, 02:31:39 am
There's no image there... better try a different way of inserting your image.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: archonforest on March 20, 2019, 03:54:04 am
I managed to open it. Here it is...
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Dune on March 20, 2019, 05:18:13 am
Still nothing, weird.... this is what I see.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: archonforest on March 20, 2019, 07:24:48 am
Quote from: Dune on March 20, 2019, 05:18:13 am
Still nothing, weird.... this is what I see.

Hmmm.... indead it is weird. When I click on the red text I get an option to save or to open.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Matt on March 20, 2019, 08:34:12 am
The file is a TIFF but named it with a .jpg extension.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: leopoldmaz on March 20, 2019, 07:01:54 pm
That's a bummer. I use TG4 for mac and it allows to save only in tif and bmp formats. I made a screen-shot of the rendered view. Hope it will work now.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 20, 2019, 07:04:45 pm
Quote from: leopoldmaz on March 20, 2019, 07:01:54 pm
That's a bummer. I use TG4 for mac and it allows to save only in tif and bmp formats. I made a screen-shot of the rendered view. Hope it will work now.


same on the pc version. You have to convert them to .jpg to upload here by the way, or at least most folks do. It's a file size consideration and .jpg seems best.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Dune on March 21, 2019, 03:41:12 am
Get Irfanview. Free and very handy for stuff like jpg conversion.
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 21, 2019, 11:40:45 am
Quote from: Dune on March 21, 2019, 03:41:12 am
Get Irfanview. Free and very handy for stuff like jpg conversion.


not sure if he has a mac version of Irfanview. Just checked and nope.

but here are alternatives
https://irfanview.en.softonic.com/mac/alternatives
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: Oshyan on March 25, 2019, 03:31:39 pm
Use XnView. Better UI than Irfanview and Mac-compatible. :D https://www.xnview.com/en/

- Oshyan
Title: Re: creating a round cliff boundary
Post by: bobbystahr on March 25, 2019, 06:43:13 pm
Quote from: Oshyan on March 25, 2019, 03:31:39 pm
Use XnView. Better UI than Irfanview and Mac-compatible. :D https://www.xnview.com/en/

- Oshyan


thanks for the reminder. I had this on the machine that went out the window and totally spaced it.