Planetside Software Forums

General => Terragen Discussion => Topic started by: Superza on January 04, 2007, 09:38:16 am

Title: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: Superza on January 04, 2007, 09:38:16 am
Hi All! nice to meet you.

I was humbling if there is a simple way copy part of a configuration file into another one (for example copy the clouds of a tgd file into another one)

I noticed that the .tgd files are formatted text so i presume, that it  will be possible copying the section  of interest, from a file to another one

Should be a simpler way to do this?

Best Regards
Max
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: Njen on January 04, 2007, 11:42:39 am
You can save nodes or groups of nodes as clip files that you can import into other TG2 files (right click in the node view).

Cheers.
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: ton on January 04, 2007, 12:12:57 pm
Quote from: Superza on January 04, 2007, 09:38:16 am
Hi All! nice to meet you.

I was humbling if there is a simple way copy part of a configuration file into another one (for example copy the clouds of a tgd file into another one)

I noticed that the .tgd files are formatted text so i presume, that it  will be possible copying the section  of interest, from a file to another one

Should be a simpler way to do this?

Best Regards
Max

Select the nodes you need and copy - paste . ..
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: Superza on January 05, 2007, 05:04:02 am
Thank you Guys!
Very Usefull!
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: rcallicotte on January 05, 2007, 02:18:39 pm
Does anyone know if when saving the clip files if the order we select the nodes in matters?  I've imported clip files only to find sometimes the files go in backwards.
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: Tangled-Universe on January 05, 2007, 03:05:21 pm
I didn't notice any difference....so far
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: rcallicotte on January 05, 2007, 03:17:47 pm
 ;D  How did I do that?   :P

It was an atmosphere and cumulus clouds.  I deleted the default atmosphere and then imported the clip file, which included an atmosphere and cumulus clouds.  The clouds were first (on top) and the atmosphere was underneath.  I exited and restarted, then it was fine.  Magic!
Title: Re: Load part of a configuration file into another
Post by: Oshyan on January 05, 2007, 10:41:05 pm
Could be a bug in the import routines. We'll take a look at it.

- Oshyan