Planetside Software Forums

General => File Sharing => Topic started by: lightning on July 20, 2008, 04:10:08 am

Title: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1.5 UPDATED!
Post by: lightning on July 20, 2008, 04:10:08 am
well here we go guys just finished uploading the two packs ;D
i think this is a must if you want to have great and realistic ground covers for terragen
at a small price of $15 for all these 29 high quality plants you would be hard put to find a better deal on the web ;)

formats include terragen native .tgo and obj wavefront for all other 3d programs :)

hope you buy this pack (you would  be mad not to ;D) and hope to see what you do with them ;D
this pack can be used for commercial projects :)

heres the link you can either pay by paypal or creditcard ;)
http://www.digitalelements.be/web/viewAsset?assetId=582 (http://www.digitalelements.be/web/viewAsset?assetId=582)

look below for more info on the pack

(http://pichostonline.com/u/080721/149eb7f7c4.jpg) (http://pichostonline.com/)

The update for the floraworks ground cover set is now available.
the updates include:
resized models to real world scales
better quality textures have been added to many of the plants.
wild daises have been remodeled to look more realistic
dandelions have been remodeled to look more realistic

Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: cyphyr on July 20, 2008, 04:46:22 am
Spent my money, your 15 bucks richer ;) I think you got the price point just right on this.
By the way, is the image to the right of your Floraworks header all done with your models?
Looking forward to more collections :)

Richard
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on July 20, 2008, 08:27:32 am
In less than 2 weeks I'll be joining the ranks of your customer base.
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: JimB on July 20, 2008, 08:56:45 am
Good luck with it Lightning, but I'd suggest re-doing your logo to say Floraworks  ;)

Modified:  Bought.
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: DeathTwister on July 20, 2008, 09:24:18 am
Yep I will also buy your goodies here soon.  Make sure I got the duckets in my bank first /smiles.....
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: mhaze on July 20, 2008, 12:36:09 pm
Bought keep 'em comming.

Mick
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 20, 2008, 04:30:43 pm
thankyou to all who have bought! ;D
most of the money will be going towards my website getting that started up
yeah i noticed a couple of typos with the picture i will redo the psd when i get home from school ::)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: Oshyan on July 20, 2008, 10:09:02 pm
This looks fantastic. I too am curious if the images in your logo (not the example renders, but the more photoreal bits) are done using your models. If so it's extremely impressive.

- Oshyan
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 21, 2008, 04:25:04 am
i want to thank everyone who has bought this model pack i really appreciate it a lot of the money has gone to the site me and Old blaggard are setting up so hopefully the site will be up and running smoothly by late november. I think floraworks will be a good edition to terragen users it will provide them with cheap and reasonable hq flora for there scenes people create. i am just a regular guy and hate to pay for thing like a lot of people here do :D but you cant have everything for free but i still will provide the community with my freebies so dont fret! but please support me when the site gets up and running without your help i wont suceed even if you just buy a pack of shrubs it helps heaps :)

p.s that picture to the right of my logo is actually a photo but my pack in the right hands such as Tangled-Universe or RAcher and many other great artists here could easily create something as real as that all the flowers and shrubs in that photo are provided in this pack with many better addons so render away!!! and please show me what you do with this pack ;D ;D
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on July 22, 2008, 06:06:44 pm
Hi Lightning,

Just wanted to add that i've purchased your model pack as well. Your price point makes it attractive to the hobbyist like me who can't justify paying large sums of money for objects. I think with this business model you will do quite well, especially seeing as the end result is of such high quality.

Good luck with floraworks lightning.
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 24, 2008, 03:51:13 am
thanks reck really appreciated and have fun with the models! ;)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on July 24, 2008, 04:05:56 am
Hi Lightning,

I am having a bit of a problem actually. I set up a scene last night, a simple terrain with the camera placed 5 metres above the ground. I then loaded a grass population from an old object that I had lying around. It was slightly to big so I scaled it down just a touch. Once that was set up I loaded your nettles object as another population. The nettles that come in were massive. I tried scaling them down but they won't scale for some reason, even if I use extreme sclaes like -50 or -100 the nettles won't scale down. I tried one of your other objects as well, can't remember now of the top of my head which one, but I couldn't get this to scale down either. Any ideas? I can post some screenshots if it helps, or even a project file.

One other comment. When I loaded the object up I got some errors. There was a path in the colour tabs in a number of shaders pointing to a folder D:\floraworks\lightning if I remember correctly, no file name just the folder. I went through all the shaders and removed this path to stop the error messages popping up. Was this the best thing to do or should it have been pointing to an image file somewhere?

Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 24, 2008, 04:17:55 am
right the scale is an issue i am working on an i think i have fixed i will probably do a free update to the purchasers of this pack with true scale models
the textures is a real pain most other software do automatic recognisation of textures but terragen doesnt which is very anoying. to fix this go to the default tab and rassign the textures to the correct paths that should do the trick
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: Matt on July 24, 2008, 11:17:35 am
Hi Lightning,

If you put the filename of your images without any paths in your shaders, Terragen will find them, as long as they are in the same folder as the object. If they are in a subfolder, such as "maps", include the name of the subfolder with the filename. e.g. "maps\leaf.tif". This is something you should do before you distribute the models - you only need to do it once - so that all of your users don't have to do this every time they load one of your objects. There's more detail about this in my earlier post.

Terragen usually tries to do all of the above when you create your objects, but it wouldn't have been able to do this if your images were in a completely separate path on your computer when you were setting it up. In that case, you just need to make a few changes yourself - it only needs to be done once - and you will save your users a lot of extra trouble.

EDIT:  In Preferences you can also set up content directories which Terragen will search for images, but that requires that your users set these up after installing your models. To save them the trouble, simply remove all the absolute path, like "D:\lightning..." etc. from your shaders.

Matt
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 24, 2008, 05:05:54 pm
yes but the maps are in the smae folder as the models so shouldnt it pick them up automatically?
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: Matt on July 24, 2008, 05:11:58 pm
The current version of Terragen will do this already, but only if you remove the "D:\floraworks\lightning" etc. paths before the filename. The current version assumes that if you have absolute paths like that (beginning with a drive letter or a slash) then you are telling it exactly where to look and you don't want it to search the object path. (It will still search any paths in the Content Library, however, so it is inconsistent in that respect.)

We are probably going to make it so that future versions will look in the object path even if you have an absolute path specified, but it isn't really necessary if the objects are set up differently.

Matt
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 24, 2008, 07:26:51 pm
how do you remove absolute paths?
do you just remove like Z:\floraworks\groundcover\
and just leave it with \field poppy\models\
if so do i do this in the default shader when i assign the image map because it comes up with the direct path name
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on July 25, 2008, 02:54:03 am
From reading what Matt said it sounds like if the textures are in the current folder next to the object you can just put the texture name, e.g. teaf.tif. If the textures are in a folder called maps then you put maps\leaf.tif, if you put the texture in a leaf folder within maps folder you put maps\leaf\leaf.tif etc

This means the paths are relative to the object and you don't need to put the full path which only makes sense on your machine and no-one elses for instance D:\floraworks\lightning\plants\maps\leaf\leaf.tif
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on July 25, 2008, 08:53:27 am
What reck said...
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: Tangled-Universe on July 27, 2008, 08:54:54 am
My bankaccount confirmation for Paypal is still pending so I still have to wait a couple of days to buy this pack. Can't wait to get my hands on this one :)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: Tangled-Universe on July 30, 2008, 02:18:20 pm
Ok, my Paypal is set and ready to be used, but now your site isn't available?
Do you happen to know why?

Martin
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on July 30, 2008, 07:09:24 pm
I plan to buy this tomorrow.  Will you have all of the files updated by then?  If not, I can wait.

Let us know.
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on July 30, 2008, 10:08:39 pm
no i haven't got round to doing that yet i am busy with school at the moment
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on August 06, 2008, 04:55:28 pm
Hi Lightning,

Have you managed to fix the scale problems on your models yet? I've not been able to use them in my scenes since i puchased them because they are taller than the trees and they won't scale down.

kind regards
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on August 07, 2008, 04:50:53 am
hey all sorry about all this mess ::) i will try and get them fixed its just that it takes so long to do and i have heaps of school work to do so i have no time really but i will try and get them fixed :)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: buzzzzz1 on August 07, 2008, 08:25:03 am
Hey, at least he's sticking with the Theme of things.   :D
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on August 07, 2008, 06:20:57 pm
Lightning I have no desire to take you away from your homework. I guess you will just have to make the changes as and when you get chance (within a reasonable time-frame). If these were some of your free models I wouldn't be in a position to ask for anything, but seeing as these are paid for items I think it's reasonable to ask for a fix.

To be honest I didn't think it was an issue at first, I thought I could just resize them myself in terragen and resave them out. But for some reason they won't scale down to a believable size, I guess it's because they are so massive to begin with. From what I can tell these are good high quality models and I look forward to using them. Thanks.
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: reck on August 13, 2008, 03:28:31 pm
I just wanted to leave another message about this. I've received the update that lightning sent out and everything is looking a lot better now. The objects are coming in at a good size and so far no path errors.

Congratulations on a good job lightning. By taking the time to go back and fix this problem for your customers and actually improving it as well, with the better textures and the extra object, it shows that you take your work seriously and want to ensure a high quality. I will have no hesitation from buying from you in future. 10/10 for quality and customer support :)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on August 13, 2008, 03:46:06 pm
thank you Reck and all who bought this pack i really want to see what you do with them if anyone wants to buy this pack now don't because i haven't updated the merchant link will do that tonight  ;)

anyway i have made 8 new grass species for a pack im making dubbed the epic grass pack v1 it contains 8 species of grass so in total there will be over 30 models. these grasses arnt just like the free high res grass they look amazing ranging from lawn grass to savanna grass
the pack contains
lawn grass
rough cut grass (like the lawn grass but more rougher look)
savanna grass which has a wavy effect to it looks sensational
hard grass good for swamp scenes or to include with other grass species
flowering grass which has little flower buds on the ends
high res clumps these have proper leaves and are perfect to include with other grasses
and the last two i cant remember but they are all modeled and should be available this weekend ;)
i will get some of them rendered so i can show you ;D
would anyone be interested? it will be the same price as the ground cover pack so 15 bux which is very reasonable
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on August 13, 2008, 10:28:51 pm
Can we see some sample renders, lightning?  I know you have quality, but I still need to see before I spend.  $15 isn't coming as easy as it once did.   :)
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on August 14, 2008, 04:09:22 am
Quote from: calico on August 13, 2008, 10:28:51 pm
Can we see some sample renders, lightning?  I know you have quality, but I still need to see before I spend.  $15 isn't coming as easy as it once did.   :)


what of the ground cover pack or the new grass pack?
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on August 14, 2008, 11:06:54 pm
I'm happy about the last purchase...or is that what you're asking? 

Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on August 14, 2008, 11:17:49 pm
oh yeah woops i forgot you bought the last pack thanks! ;D
well i have converted 3/4 of the grass pack into .tgo so i will render some of the shots tonight and show you them tomorrow you are all in for a real treat i think!!! ;D
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: rcallicotte on August 15, 2008, 03:09:48 pm
Looking forward to it.   :D
Title: Re: Floraworks groundcover Deluxe pack V1 OUT NOW!
Post by: lightning on August 15, 2008, 08:30:17 pm
here is the link to the grass images!
http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=4667.0 (http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=4667.0)