Planetside Software Forums

General => Terragen Discussion => Topic started by: katisss on January 24, 2007, 09:22:24 am

Title: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: katisss on January 24, 2007, 09:22:24 am
I am sure i messed up render setttings (Ambient occlussion used).
What should i change?
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: edlo on January 24, 2007, 11:01:41 am
Seems to me that an image map for fruit its not loaded, are those apples or oranges? ;D
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: Angealus on January 24, 2007, 11:17:19 am
post the tgd file in here, but I'm thinking that you may need to turn the detail up on both the population and the render.
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: buchvecny on January 24, 2007, 11:32:30 am
i dont think its the detail... what vegetation are u using? Xfrog or your own
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: helentr on January 24, 2007, 01:30:10 pm
Is any image map of the tree population a PNG? If so, change it to JPG.

Helen
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: §ardine on January 24, 2007, 01:52:15 pm
Quote from: buchvecny on January 24, 2007, 11:32:30 am
i dont think its the detail... what vegetation are u using? Xfrog or your own


I agree. I had this same problem (or looked the same) with some of my own models
I tried detail .8 and the population render quality very high and it didn't make a difference
the solution I found was to convert the texture image to jpg. if the object needs an alpha mask then it worked to use the old texture file as an opacity image in the material shader.

I'm not totally sure this is the same problem but perhaps this information will help

~Sardine

yeah I'm slow today helentr posted while I was typing  ;D
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: katisss on January 25, 2007, 05:39:18 am
turned out to be a problem with the image map used for the leaves.
Strange anyways.
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: buchvecny on January 25, 2007, 11:29:31 am
its not strange...
many people keep forgetting that this is Technology preview, its not even Terragen 2 beta.
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: §ardine on January 25, 2007, 12:13:17 pm
Quote from: buchvecny on January 25, 2007, 11:29:31 am
...this is Technology preview, its not even Terragen 2 beta.


so does that make it alpha and a half?   ;D
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: Dark Fire on January 25, 2007, 04:27:35 pm
Quote from: §ardine on January 25, 2007, 12:13:17 pm
Quote from: buchvecny on January 25, 2007, 11:29:31 am
...this is Technology preview, its not even Terragen 2 beta.


so does that make it alpha and a half?   ;D

That makes Terragen 2 such an amazing product that it can be sold at an incredibly early stage in development.
Title: Re: Newbie: lots of dots in my rendering
Post by: oggyb on January 26, 2007, 03:51:07 pm
Quote from: Dark Fire on January 25, 2007, 04:27:35 pm
Quote from: §ardine on January 25, 2007, 12:13:17 pm
Quote from: buchvecny on January 25, 2007, 11:29:31 am
...this is Technology preview, its not even Terragen 2 beta.


so does that make it alpha and a half?   ;D

That makes Terragen 2 such an amazing product that it can be sold at an incredibly early stage in development.

And used in the media industry before it's even come out of alpha.