Planetside Software Forums

General => Image Sharing => Topic started by: A4size on August 16, 2009, 03:09:49 am

Title: Cliff
Post by: A4size on August 16, 2009, 03:09:49 am
Quality Level:1 Anti-aliasing:11 Time:31 hours!!(CPU i7 920)
How about that?
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: A4size on August 16, 2009, 03:13:18 am
forgot
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: efflux on August 16, 2009, 03:49:41 am
Nice choice of colours. I like your cracked up ground surface.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: domdib on August 16, 2009, 05:09:33 am
Convincing strata and overhangs - good work!
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Seth on August 16, 2009, 05:17:16 am
nice colours and pov
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: FrankB on August 16, 2009, 05:55:28 am
It rendered so long because your displacements are "broken". This scene should render in no more than 4 hours on your CPU.
I can't tell exactly what is causing this without looking into your node network, but definitely there is something wrong.

Regards,
Frank
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Seth on August 16, 2009, 06:00:38 am
mmmh depends on the atmo sample Frank...
GI detail very high too ?

Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: FrankB on August 16, 2009, 06:21:39 am
No Franck, that's not what I mean. You can see that part of the terrain are not rendered (upper left for example), and that you have a few "black" cracks here and there. i know this effect when your compute normals are off.

Regards,
Frank
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Seth on August 16, 2009, 06:27:10 am
oh yeah !
the black cracks are common bug now. the power fractal before the compute terrain are still causing problems. maybe that's the point here ?
but i can see the parts of terrain not rendered too.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Tangled-Universe on August 16, 2009, 07:06:13 am
I think it is due to extreme displacements and compute normals/terrains which are "off".
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: ra on August 16, 2009, 10:14:46 am
Very nice displacements!
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: A4size on August 19, 2009, 06:37:51 am
Is a screenshot of the node list
Reference Data http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?PHPSESSID=98c113242fcdbbc982079c22d6b45d76&topic=1462.0

I sent a message by translation function
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: FrankB on August 19, 2009, 07:28:36 am
hard to troubleshoot just from the network, but I suggest you put all displacements before the compute terrain node, not after it.
Lateral displacements can be very odd if the displacement is relatively extreme, I don't know if you have any of these.
The distribution shader's altitude and slope constraints before the compute terrain might work based on wrong texture and slope information, should you use these constraint up there.
Slope requires a computed normal, and altitude requires computed texture coordinates (tex coords from xyz).

Frank
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Henry Blewer on August 19, 2009, 08:01:01 am
altitude requires computed texture coordinates (tex coords from xyz).

That could be why I am not getting much height when I am adding displacements. I'll have to look at this function.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: FrankB on August 19, 2009, 08:16:03 am
it's quite easy to understand once you think about it: in the beginning, the texture of the planet follows the round and smooth sphere. When you distort this shape, the other shaders need to know. They look at the last compute terrain node (or tex coordinates for that matter) to get information about altitude in the texture. If the tex coordinates have not been computed after the displacement, they "think" the planet is still flat.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Henry Blewer on August 19, 2009, 08:21:52 am
That's the problem. I thought height fields were flat to begin with, so why add a function which should not be needed?
I've have been making too many guesses how things in this program work. The forum has helped, NWDA and StoneFinger has helped. But there is so much undocumented. The more I learn, the stupider I get...
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: FrankB on August 19, 2009, 09:44:21 am
if you have "just" the heightfield plugged into a compute terrain, like in the default scene, you're fine.
The compute terrain node combines the functionality of two shaders in one: of the tex coodrs from xyz and from compute normal.
So compute terrain is giving you both altitude and slope information.

Frank
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Henry Blewer on August 19, 2009, 10:38:28 am
Thanks Frank. I've been messing around, getting some severely twisted terrain. Part of this 'twistedness' is from the extreme values used for the displacements. The results have been cool, but for rendering anything realistic, not much use.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: A4size on October 24, 2009, 12:48:41 am
Thank you for letting me know the various

I do my best
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: A4size on October 28, 2009, 03:16:01 am
The coast from the cliff
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: Kadri on October 28, 2009, 09:49:43 am
Nice. But i liked the first POV more.

Cheers.

Kadri.
Title: Re: Cliff
Post by: rcallicotte on October 28, 2009, 12:54:39 pm
I like the POVs on both, but would like to see more roughed up textures.  Then again, I wonder if that's just because that's what I expect about textured surfaces by what I've seen here.  Rarely have I seen some of the cool surfacing in real life to match what I've seen here.