Image map shader not cooperating

Started by Alpha Centurion, June 21, 2010, 11:10:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alpha Centurion

Hi guys,

I'm creating a scene of a cloudy planet, viewed from above the atmosphere. The surface will not be visible, but the clouds will be, and they are the main focus of the image. I have added an image map shader of a hurricane, and it is looking fugly.

To begin with, the image map does not follow the planetary curvature, so I have changed the projection type and it is still not working. I've attached some screenies that might help you, helping me. What could be wrong? Secondly, naahh, nevermind. A solution to the first problem is enough... :)

I am quite new to terragen, so please keep any solution simple to follow.

/Thank you, for reading this.

Kevin F

If I understand you correctly, you need to project the image through a camera (call it projection cam) and then view/render it via a separate camera. All assuming you have the image projected to the right place and at the correct size of course!

Alpha Centurion

Thanks for the reply!

I think I did what you told me, but I can't get it to work. Could you help me? I've attached the file to the message.

Henry Blewer

Change the projection camera by assigning the Render Camera. Copy the planet's location and paste in into the location of the image map, then click on the position center circle. Last try different projection types if this one does not work.
http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

Kevin F

Quote from: Alpha Centurion on June 22, 2010, 11:01:54 AM
Thanks for the reply!

I think I did what you told me, but I can't get it to work. Could you help me? I've attached the file to the message.

Without the image file it's not much use.

Alpha Centurion

Quote from: Kevin F on June 22, 2010, 04:33:39 PM
Without the image file it's not much use.