Need advices for a project

Started by etto, August 21, 2010, 11:26:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

etto

Hi folks,
after a long time I am back and discovered that terragen has become tremendously better.
Now to the point: it's since seven years I've not been using it so it's like I'm a newbie here  :)
On september I'll start a new commercial (still image, not animation); I'll have to realize some floating island ala avatar so considering that usually I work with lightwave, maya and zbrush some of my questions are:

- can terragen2 help me in that or the learning curve is too steep considering tight timelines of professional work (i have 20 days to finish it)?
- is it better to model the islands in another software and then import and detail it in terragen?
- does terragen handle big render resolution on mac without big issues (final images usually have from 6000 to 10000 pixels base depending on details)?

So, I have one week to decide wether to organize this project with software I already own or buy something more, like terragen or similar, to achieve my goal. Every kind of advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Etto

Henry Blewer

I think I would use Terragen 2 to produce a height fields. Use the border blending to reduce the size away from the edges. Export the height field as a lwo file. Import the lwo file into the program you are most comfortable with.
The height field can be mirrored vertically. Then the bottom part can be stretched to form a area with stronger vertical aspect. Save the new object.
If you are comfortable using Terragen 2 shaders, these can be used on the new object. Import the lwo object. Turn off the Raytrace Objects in the render tab. A new terrain can be made in Terragen 2. The lwo object can be placed and both can be shaded as required and the image rendered.
Honesty, I don't think there is enough time to do the project in Terragen 2 if you are not acquainted with it. But the technique should work with an external renderer.