Projector

Started by QMTD, April 19, 2011, 12:19:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

QMTD

Hello

Is there a way to use an image as a gel to colour light sources or in other words to create a projector, please?

Oshyan

This is not directly possible at this time but there may be creative workarounds.

- Oshyan

QMTD

Thanks for your reply.

Do you mean like interposing a transparent textured object? Sorry, but I'm completely new to this programme, I would greatly appreciate a hint.

Oshyan

Yes, something like that. Or possibly using the texture with Through Camera projection and making it luminous (not the same effect but the visual result might be similar). Unfortunately the effect you're trying to achieve probably won't be easy with present limitations.

- Oshyan

Matt

Cloud Layers cast shadows, and the cloud's density shader can be coloured to produce coloured shadows.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Oshyan

Ah, great idea Matt.

- Oshyan

Tangled-Universe

Quote from: Matt on April 19, 2011, 11:11:08 PM
Cloud Layers cast shadows, and the cloud's density shader can be coloured to produce coloured shadows.

Matt

Really? That doesn't sound logical to me...?

Dune

It does.

Tangled-Universe

Not a very clear example if you'd ask me Ulco...?

I suppose I'd either expect yellowish shadows or complementary coloured shadows, in this example violet? But to say I can 1) clearly see shadows 2) which are clearly yellow/violet. No.

Regardless of all of that: it's not logical to me that the density shader controls this.
It should control cloud shape, together with the density/edge sharpness settings (1st tab in cloud node, basically).
I'd suspect the cloud/scatter colours to be of importance and perhaps the ambient setting in the tweak tab, may be.

Seth

I must admit I don't understand.
why does density shader would control colours of shadows ?
and, like Martin, don' really understand your example too, sorry :)