Question about the Node Network

Started by archre, May 24, 2011, 06:03:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

archre

Hi folks.
I'm very new to TG2 and before I'm gonna start a project, I want to understand the node network thoroughly. I've been working with Max/MSP a lot, which is a graphical IDE for audio, and also based on a node network
http://www.benjaminyobp.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/maxpatch.jpg

Coming from that background, one thing I don't understand yet about TG2. When I'm using a get position-node, extract the x value, mess around with it and then feed its output into a Displacement Shader, how does the shader know that the input applies to 'x'? If that would be Max/MSP, you would probably need to feed it a list of tuples (x,f(x)). Does TG2 automatically work with x first, then y, etc..?
I know this is a question going down deep into the implementation of TG2, but in order to understand what's happening, I want to know that.

Another thing is the order of node-arguments: Right to left (as in Max/MSP) or left to right or other? I don't know yet if this is relevant for TG2 at all, as you don't have streams of data you need to synchronize between (and make sure all arguments are calculated yet).

Thanks!

Hetzen

The Get nodes take their value at render time, ie, they work on the final positioning of everything in the node chain. Chains tend to work top down, but there are exceptions, like "final normal" in the surface layer node. As for order of calculation with say two get positions, I would hazard a guess that the first one created would have priority over a second, but that's just conjecture.