Terragen crashes when I try to create a "sea"

Started by Zathura, June 10, 2011, 04:14:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zathura

First of all, I'd like to say that while I'm brand new to T2, I'm a longtime user of Terragen classic, and after rediscovering the joys of scene creation, I'm thrilled to see all the new options available to me and I'm excited to learn more.

Now to the issue at hand.

(Edit) Maybe I've figured something out. It's not crashing, at least, though I'm getting some weird "swirly" stuff going on. I'll play with it some more, maybe I don't need help after all...

I've lurked through dozens of pages of the forums and used the search function to try and learn how to create a planetary sea. I've seen a number of options, and I realize this topic has been rehashed time and time again...

Yet I still seem to be doing something wrong. For the last hour or so (and several crashes later) I've yet to get a working solution. I've tried copying and pasting the original planet, creating a new planet, and using an object sphere.

I start by using a displacement power fractal on the first planet, with the largest features somewhere around 1-million to get some decent-sized landmasses. Then I try the above options, placing the new object at the same coordinates and assigning a water-shader as the surface.

The crashes occur as soon as I attempt to alter the radius of the second (or first) planet or object, without fail. I'm also a little confused about the "5.367e+106" stuff, or how it converts to regular units, but that's beside the point. Simply taking "5.367e+106" and changing it to "5.367e+156" causes the program to crash. I assumed that was the way to increase the radius to get the "water" above the lowest terrain levels? Is it not?

I'm not going for anything fancy this first time, and I'm sure I'm missing something simple...so please have some patience with me. Any help is appreciated.

freelancah

The numbers you are using are rediculously large...