A gracious request for a little guidance

Started by Kokosing, June 14, 2011, 05:26:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kokosing

Hello Terragen Wizards!

This is my first post here. And, if I can figure a few TG basics out, I hope to start hanging out here regularly. 

I'm completely new to TG, but not entirely new to 3D environment creation and rendering. I've been making animated maps for a few years. Stuff like this: http://vimeo.com/19713691

I've wanted to add Terragen to my toolbox for quite a while, but I'm finally getting into it now because I really need it. 

I need to build a realistic environment around an ancient historical site. Being a Neolithic site, the geography around the structure is very specific. Unfortunately there's very little data available about the area. The SRTM data is 90m and full of holes/anomalies. The satellite imagery I've found is of poor quality and full of clouds. 

I've found some decent aerial photos and done my best to rectify them and draw some contours.  I've managed to build up a 4 level grayscale image which I'd like to use as a starting point. 

Ideally I'd like to bring this into Terragen and then use the controls there to add more surface detail and possibly colours. Then I'd want to export the terrain and colours so I could use them in my comfort zone of Cinema 4D and Vray. 

If I understand correctly, I'd export my terrain as either an EXR or a LWS. I'm happy to use either. But it looks like the LWS can only be created from a heightfield and not further down the node-tree after I've added displacement. I also see that to get colours out I'll need to render a top view without shadows or atmos.

Here are some issues I'm having which I can't seem to find answers for:

Should I bring in my handmade grayscale as a heightfield or as an image shader with displacement? Is there a difference?