More Texture mapping stuff

Started by TheBadger, October 30, 2011, 09:37:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kadri

Quote from: TheBadger on November 14, 2011, 07:26:48 PM
But I also have a question. When applying a bump with a redirect shader (x,y,z) I got total coverage. But in the set up you shared, to get the color and detail from the image map, masks are needed. Why does the one not require masks and the other does?

Also, Im not sure yet even how to make a mask, I have not got that far yet, I have been experimenting with the other stuff first. But my project is really shaping up!

My background is 2D and 3D. Terragen2 covers these of course. But then there is the aspect with nodes and math etc.
This is the part where i am not good. I use them so much i can. But it is mostly trial and error.  Mostly the latter  :)

So i use masks because i am more familiar with them.
I think what you make with the redirect shader (i nearly don't used it much) is that you assign it to the say Z it will use the image only in that axis in all the TG2 world.
With masks you are restricting only negatively or positively where the image-texture should be placed.

Terragen 2 does have so much possibilities as i said above that you could make all the same thing with quite another approach.
For example to use the texture for the ground and for the top of the Wall you could have used only the "Surface layer" with "Altitude constraints" setting too.
Because the example i put here is very basic and on a flat terrain you could make this without using the mask approach.

Not sure if this is an answer to you TheBadger :)

TheBadger

QuoteI think what you make with the redirect shader (i nearly don't used it much) is that you assign it to the say Z it will use the image only in that axis in all the TG2 world.
With masks you are restricting only negatively or positively where the image-texture should be placed
This helps me greatly Kadri, thanks.