Control a Transform Shader from external input?

Started by digitalis99, November 24, 2011, 04:14:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

digitalis99

I'm working on several projects that all involve a lot of water animation.  Rather than setting up keyframed Transform Shaders for each project, I'm trying to create a more automated network (using get frame number) I can just drop in place and attach to the water node.  I have two problems:

1) The Transform Shader has an input node, but it doesn't seem to do anything with it.  I'm assuming it expects a vector input, hence my network setup, but nothing I've done sets the translate values....even using a constant vector.

2) I only want to translate along one or two axis'.  It's not clear to me how I could take the output of the scalar to vector and make one or more of the axis values constant while allowing the others to change as the frame changes.

I'm really new to TG2, so go easy on me.
Pixel Plow :: Render Endlessly :: http://www.pixelplow.net

dandelO

Have a look here at Hetzen's get frame animator in my 'rescale noise' thread, that should give you a good basis to start from.

http://forums.planetside.co.uk/index.php?topic=12144.msg122215#msg122215

digitalis99

That answers my #2 question perfectly, thanks!  As for #1, though, I'm not getting anywhere.  Is there no way to translate a PF via any mechanism other than a keyframed transform shader?

Tangled-Universe

I'm probably a bit dense here, but to me question 1 and 2 are the same and Martin gave you the answer to both.

His answer provides a way to use the redirect shader to selectively transform along one axis.
Using a multiplier function together with the get frame function you can control the speed of translation.

I use that method to translate water/clouds at a constant rate, based on the get frame input.

digitalis99