Distance Shader and Object Populations

Started by sylink, January 08, 2012, 04:07:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sylink

I'm relatively new to Terragen and I've been trying to recreate the Golden Forest tutorial because I've been playing with adding objects.

I have the populations added and attempt to add the distance shader to keep all the trees away from the camera but it never works even though I appear to have the nodes set up correctly.

The only way I've gotten populations to vary according to the distance shader is by making it top level and separate, but then I get the colors all over the terrain as well.

Here is a picture of my nodes:

When I render, the trees aren't away from the camera and end up blocking my view, which defeats the purpose obviously!
Link to the golden forest tutorial in case you don't know about it.

Tangled-Universe

The screenshot shows you only have limited a surface layer's coverage with the distance shader.

This won't work anyway, due to how the surface layer is configured by default. To have the breakup fully control the surface layer's coverage you need to set coverage to 0.5 and fractal breakup to 1. If the breakup is then blended with a distance shader then you'll have a surfacelayer controlled by the fractal breakup + distance shader.

What you need to do is to create a separate surfacelayer/distribution shader and connect the distance shader to that.
The distance shader's settings you have tell me that you want trees "starting" at 40m from camera with coverage reaching 100% at 80m from camera.
Use this surfacelayer/distribution shader as "density shader" in your tree population.

cyphyr

Its often better to use a separate camera for distance shaders rather than the render camera. It basically gives you much more flexibility.
For example you can move your render camera about to make test renders without changing your population every time.