Newbie - help on generating specific worlds from heightfields

Started by Todd, January 12, 2012, 01:38:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Todd

Hi All

I'm relatively new to all this (3-4 weeks under my belt) and can generate random worlds and colour shaders populated by objects dispersed across painted shaders quite successfully, however I now want to create a specific custom world and seemed to have entered a twilight zone trying to get it to work...

I want to create a customised part of an earth-sized world which is 2900km x 2900km covering roughly western Europe in tem of Lat/Long.  The heightfield data for the area I want to read from a greyscale TIFF (or BMP or TGA - I have it in Photoshop).  Ultimately I want to use different colour shaders on different parts of the map - eg the snowline at the pole will be much lower than that nearer the equator.  I need a consistent level sea (or at least the appearance of one) covering what would be the atlantic/med sea and various large lakes.

I have Win 7, 4GB of memory (which I migh boost up in the next week or so) and an i7 CPU at 2.8GHz. My PC runs quite reliably....except when I use TG2 (the latest free version - but will upgrade to the bought version to get animation if I can get the darned thing to work!)

The TIFF file to be used for the heightfield is greyscale (white mountaintops, black sea also with rivers mapped out in Photoshop with a 1 pixel wide black brush) . The image measures 10287 x 9360 pixels (24bit depth - which I think is 8 bit x 3 channels?). Its 275MB in size.

The approach (and problems!) :
1) I start with the default project and generate random terrain in Heightfield shader 01.  I have "Flatten surface first" in the Displacement shader unchecked so that the terrain doesn't jut out from the globe (thanks Cyphyr!).  I set it to "Position centre" as this seems to work best when I put the sea on.