Author Topic: Voronoi Clouds  (Read 5710 times)

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Voronoi Clouds
« on: May 02, 2007, 10:53:10 AM »
Created a voronoi cloud shader for you guys. God knows what you can use it for, maybe an abstract render or something.

In the internal network of the shader there's a multiplier, change the value of the constant to scale the clouds.

Please note, this does increase the render times drastically, perhaps future optimising will improve this.

I'll upload an image soon, just finishing rendering.

Offline dhavalmistry

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 01:57:35 PM »
an example render would be good...thanx anyway!...gonna try this...
"His blood-terragen level is 99.99%...he is definitely drunk on Terragen!"

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2007, 03:04:19 PM »
I was gonna post one, but two hours later it still wasn't finished...

10% render finished in 2 hours, atmos samples 60, GI 0/0, detail 0.35, resolution; 320x240.

I told you render sizes increased a lot.

Offline rcallicotte

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9542
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2007, 03:29:14 PM »
Thanks.  Always fun to join in on experimentation.
So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2007, 04:04:22 PM »
10% render finished in 2 hours, atmos samples 60, GI 0/0, detail 0.35, resolution; 320x240.

I told you render sizes increased a lot.
Those atmo samples probably didn't help either....
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2007, 04:54:12 PM »
60 is pitiful for me, at those settings I can normally render 300 atmos samples + within 20 minutes.

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2007, 06:14:05 PM »
Geez... and what, pray, do you need 300 atmosphere samples for?
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2007, 08:29:49 PM »
My majesty clip file generally needs 200 for one cloud layer, and most of my top-quality scenes total around 300 to 400 cloud samples for all the layers combined (on average 3 to 4 layers, but if i'm trying something special - like my IOTW71 render "paradise", I'm using 5, maybe 6 cloud layers).

Seriously, I generally don't notice that much of a drop by increasing cloud samples since I render overnight, so I set cloud detail to 1 anyway, because I'd rather have it take 1 hour of my time longer (which I will be sleeping through anyway) than for me to have to render again and have wasted a night.

Even when I'm rendering in the day my most complex scenes (apart from ones with extra lightsources or reflections) take less than 2 hours each, which I'll happily do on my laptop while I'm doing other things with my PC, like making more tgds.

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2007, 09:04:12 PM »
I see... so you meant cloud samples when you said atmosphere samples above.  That I can understand.  You must have a blazing fast laptop or PC to be able to render stuff that quickly.  I sometimes borrow my father's Core 2 Duo laptop (2.16Ghz) and it still takes upwards of five hours for some scenes (one was 7 object populations, clouds, 1024*1024 render).
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2007, 07:04:47 AM »
my pc is getting quite old now actually.

CPU is 3.02Ghz. That's all. 1gb of RAm too.

Much less than that in my laptop (1 gHz processor I think)

Offline old_blaggard

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2524
    • http://sdcarpenter.free.fr/paul/
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2007, 01:16:36 PM »
Interesting.  I wonder if TG2 is more optimized for x86 than for PowerPC (which is what I'm on).
http://www.terragen.org - A great Terragen resource with models, contests, galleries, and forums.

Offline ProjectX

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 310
Re: Voronoi Clouds
« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2007, 02:23:10 PM »
bear in mind I'm using the trial edition, none of my images are larger than 800x600 and I rarely have more than 2 populations.