Author Topic: Need help to make clouds animation ?  (Read 2120 times)

Offline Nacer Eddine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 366
Need help to make clouds animation ?
« on: May 17, 2013, 09:37:19 PM »
Hi,
How can i make a clouds animation (with camera fixed, but the clouds move) in terragen 2.
Thanks

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2013, 03:54:58 AM »
Cypher posted a file this week that demonstrates the process.
http://www.planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,16065.0.html
2nd to last post. Download the clip file, plug it in, looks good as is but is basic. Easily understandable. Works nice.
It has been eaten.

Offline Nacer Eddine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 366
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2013, 11:46:21 AM »
i have tried to make an animation
but the probleme when i change the value for exemple : centre x=0, y=0, z=0 in the 1st frame
and x=1000 , y=0, z=0 in last frame (100)
when i set the animation key and i active the animation, the frames dosen't look correct at all






but when i do it manualy it look like correct
i mean , i change for exemple x=100, i do the rendre for it,  save the frame , and i return back to change the x=200, and so on ,......
its hard steps , but it work

so why i can't do that automaticly ? is some setting missing ?

this is an exemple, i have used the manual methode
and i hop some one tell me who i can do that automaticly

« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 10:55:35 PM by Nacer Eddine »

Offline Nacer Eddine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 366
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2013, 11:52:12 AM »


another video, still same problem, only with the manual methode, frame by frame, render after render
if i fond the the best way, i can do the longest video ever seen before.
 

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3581
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2013, 12:27:58 PM »
It works as expected when I set key frames at 1 and 100. Did you check "Localise" and "Move textures with cloud"?

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Offline Nacer Eddine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 366
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2013, 01:44:50 PM »
every thing its all right, the value of x change with the frame , but when i check the frames, its look like nothing.
look for this simple exemple

i set the centre x=5000 in frame 1





and x=6000 in frame 100





when i go to rendre all the frames automaticly




look the result in right colomn




but i do the same thing but manually
like that for example x=5000 frame 1, 5100 frame 2 , 5200 frame 3 , 5300 frame 4, .....



the resut is in left colomn witch is very correct.
so why its dosent work with the animation automaticaly,
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 10:56:36 PM by Nacer Eddine »

Offline TheBadger

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7416
  • what's the difference?
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2013, 02:16:06 PM »
Post your TGD.
This is the fastest way for you to get help.
It has been eaten.

Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2013, 06:59:45 PM »
Set the curve type to linear in the animation panel for the X movement.

Offline Nacer Eddine

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 366
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2013, 11:07:27 PM »
still same problem

i set the mode linear in the animation panel
i fixed the value x = 100 in frame 1





in frame 2 with x = 105, the picture is completely changed




so the animation dosnt work , and i cant continu with the other frames. so i stoped it



but, look when i delete the animation, and i do the same thing but frame by frame , it work

look here
for exemple, i set x=100



when i change x= 200, the picture dosnt change brutaly like the animation methode, and its really correct


so the second way, is good, but i cant used it to do 1000 frames,
i think and iam sure some thing is wrong, or missed to set some setting before !!!!!!!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2013, 11:09:17 PM by Nacer Eddine »

Offline Matt

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 3581
  • I'm the crazy one
Re: Need help to make clouds animation ?
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2013, 10:40:39 AM »
Something else is causing your clouds to change on each frame. We will need to see your project file to find out what it is.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

 

anything