Understanding 'diffuse color'..by definition?

Started by yesmine, March 08, 2014, 02:17:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

yesmine

I'm still new to Terragen and realizing that my interpretation of the meanings of terms isn't always what it may be in the program. In this instance, my take on 'diffuse color' was that it would dull or muddy any colors in my object--make them more diffused. But I saw a post suggesting 'diffuse color' simply meant darkening or brightening the existing color? If that's the case, then is there more in being able to change the little color selector box to some other color? That sounds like changing hue or tint rather than simply diffusing (or maybe that does muddy or shade the original color too, i.e. diffusing it.)

The same kind of questions with 'translucency'. ? I'd expected 'translucency' would be simply a more-or-less option, so if I change the color selector, does that actually change the color of (e.g. a leaf) when sunlight appears behind it? As long as I understand what's happening, more control is better I suppose.
Thanks..

j meyer

In case you don't know there is a wiki with descriptions of the nodes and other
helpful stuff.
This is for the default shader:http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Default_Shader

Edit: Sorry it should have been a working link,don't know why it doesn't work.
       You'll find the wiki under User-contributed Tutorials ->in the sticky thread.

jo

Hi,

Diffuse colour is essentially the basic underlying colour of the shader. So if you want green grass you use a green diffuse colour. Often there are a few settings available with diffuse colour settings, for example you can set the colour using the colour picker, an image map or another shader. All of those settings combine to set the basic colour of the shader. This is explained more in the Default shader docs j meyer linked to:

http://planetside.co.uk/wiki/index.php?title=Default_Shader