Moving on

Started by jo, May 07, 2014, 01:44:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jo

Hi everyone,

I'd like to announce that I'm moving on from my role at Planetside. Planetside and Terragen have been a big part of my life. I've been working with Matt for something like 15 years and I spent some time as a user before that. It was a very tough decision to move on but it's time for me to try something a bit different.

When I think back to when I started working with Matt (as opposed to being a user), around the TG Classic v0.7 timeframe if I recall correctly (hard to remember back that far!), I'm very proud of what we've accomplished with TG to date. It's been a great experience working with Matt, John in the past and Oshyan in more recent years.

The thing I will miss the most, apart from the work, is the user community. I think Planetside's user community has always been one of the best I've come across. The enthusiasm, helpfulness and above all friendliness of the user community is exceptional. The users have always been a big motivator for me and I've felt a keen sense of responsibility towards the community. I've really enjoyed working closely with people on various projects over the years. I've also had the privilege to meet some users in person but not as many as I would have liked!

I still plan to be involved with Planetside in a more limited capacity. Initially I will be settling into my new job and won't be around the forums so much perhaps, but in the not-too-distant future I'll still be around and helping TG move forward.

Although this is not a final farewell I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the users, past and present, for helping to make the last 15 years such an interesting and rewarding time.

Regards,

Jo Meder

Matt