Question: Machine requirements vs time for some quality 5 - 10 min animation?

Started by Marty, October 09, 2014, 12:52:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Marty

Big question: I have no experience with Terragen animation: But if I wanted to make a some standard quality (not extreme quality) animation of 5-10 min and not go thru a render farm: What kind of machine requirements or how many machines in a what category do I need to have to have it rendered in a week to ten days? How much money do I need to invest in computer power? This is just a question where I am searching for some kind of feel for what I am dealing with: But if somebody have thought this thru, or actually know, an answer would be great! :D

cyphyr

If we think of a "standard quality" animation being a 1280x720 @ 25 frames per second then taking your lower figure of 5 min (we can just double up the figures for 10 min) we would have an animation of 7500 frames. To render that many frames on a single computer in a week would require each frame to be completed in slightly over 80 seconds!

That computer dose not exist yet.

Obviously more (multiple) computers can reduce the overall render time.

Most animations I have completed would render out a frame in between 20 min and 2 hours a frame. My PC spec is in my sig.
Take a look at the new Terragen benchmark to get an idea how differing rigs compare. http://planetside.co.uk/products/tg3-benchmark

I would highly recommend using a render farm, either in-house or an external one. Planetside work closely with Pixel Plow so you may want to checkout their deals (I think there may be an introductory discount of some kind)  http://www.planetside.co.uk/pixelplow-official-renderfarm

www.richardfraservfx.com
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

Ryzen 9 5950X OC@4Ghz, 64Gb (TG4 benchmark 4:13)

Marty