a very disheartening problem with a DEM

Started by TheBadger, November 22, 2014, 09:50:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheBadger

Oh yes, yet another question  :o

So I found a DEM of a volcano. The file is massive in square miles so I masked it with a SimpShapShader. Well as you may guess, the area of the volcano is of course many more miles above sea level than the rest of my scene. And Obviously, the sss leaves some mean ass walls around the edges.

How can I lower the DEM relative to my scene terrain, so that I can make the area of interest flow into my terrain?
or
How can I raise my scene terrain to meet the DEM mask edges, without changing the look of my terrain?

Please tell me there is a way!!! It would be so cool if there is a way.  ???
It has been eaten.

TheBadger

Thank you Kadri.

Im pretty new to it my self. Never even looked at these Hightfield operators before.
The one you linked sounds good by the wiki.

I tried it. Not sure if I should plug the operator into the load node for the dem, or the first mask input of the main dem node.

When I plug the operator into the load node, nothing happens just from attaching it. And when I plug it into the first mask input of the dem node, my volcano disappears. Adjusting the sliders does not appear to do anything. But Im not sure what to do anyway. The wikki is unclear.

One thing I thought to do was place the volcano on another planet inside my main one. But I think that will get really frustrating trying to make a really smooth blend.

What else do you think about this?
It has been eaten.

Kadri

I made a basic test with a TER file and this worked by changing the "add height" to negative or positive numbers.

[attachimg=1]

I will try with a DEM file too.

Kadri

It worked the same way with a "Geog heightfield load" node too (with a DEM file).

TheBadger

Thank you for verifying that it works like you thought it would.