Textures On OBJs

Started by fleetfoot, January 08, 2015, 05:50:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fleetfoot

Hi,
I'm new to Terragen 3. I am familiar with other software and was trying to import some plant OBJ files. They do not render correctly but instead show an opaque area where the image files that make up the leaves for example use transparency to only show the leaves themselves.
[attachimg=1]

I must be missing something because I see lots of images made with Terragen that have lots of plants that look just fine.
Can someone please steer me in the right direction where I can learn what works and what does not?

I seem to have a lot of difficulty with the documentation. It does not seem current for version 3 and/or is not put together in a way I can follow easily.

Many thanks in advance,
fleetfoot

Oshyan

fleetfoot

Pleased to meet you Oshyan.

Thanks for the reply and links, but I don't really get any joy from them. They don't tell me what I can do to make things work.

My initial query was because of some plants I got from Xfrog 3.5 Lite. I also noticed many difficulties with things not texturing correctly with exports from Sketchup (2015 in this case).

I have Vue 2014 Complete and have not had these problems with it. They render ok. I don't understand why there's a problem with Terragen.
Here an image from Vue. The same tree renders as a cloud of cotton balls in Terragen.
[attachimg=1]

I just need to know what do I do to fix the problem? I already have the OBJ files and can't change them now.

addendum:

I took the leaf image, which was a red leaf on a white background, and made another .tif file with a black background and the area where the leaf was I left as transparent. Brought it into the shader in T3 in the opacity tab and added it as an opacity image. I didn't change anything else, but it works. I spent 15 or 20 minutes fiddling beforehand and nothing worked.