MODO 901

Started by TheBadger, June 10, 2015, 04:58:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

efflux

To start getting around Modo's more technical side of modeling, this is a decent set of tutorials. It's old but useful even with the latest Modo and it's free. You get to work out how to deal with snapping which itself is hugely complex. You could probably do this quicker in Wings but without the precision dimensions feedback. Modo's modeling tools are worth knowing because for some extremely complex precise modeling some of the tools come in useful. He has to makes macros to deal with windows etc. This isn't necessary in Wings which can auto detect similar polys. However, this macro capability could be very useful along with some of the other tools.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xHp_LZELsqg&list=PLi2GhhsPL-RrFBfeUFGMocDmBgU6LZFsl

efflux

Modo is absolutely full of bugs. I've commented on their forum about it. There are plenty of threads about it. I'm no expert but there are lots of bugs that make it even difficult to learn. It doesn't crash but the UI and tools are totally bug ridden. Unless they get to grips with this and stop adding feaures Modo is going nowhere because it's all over the net now that Modo is bug ridden.

TheBadger

Yeah, I was reading some of the complaints. Seems to be hit and miss for those complaining. I mean bugs for some but not others.
Im sure it will all get sorted.

I was reading that the problem is that for subscription customers, a new release is due every year. So that may be why it was released as a WIP, sorta. Another reason to hate renting software I guess.

ITs funny though, I was reading that Maya 2016 is great :o, but MODO is having problems now. HA HA. Well, in the long run, I think MODO is the one to watch.

It has been eaten.

efflux

I'm trying to learn the modeler at the moment and the bugs make this difficult because it takes you ages to work out if t's your problem or a bug.