Ship Over Extraterrestrial City

Started by fuzzyEuclid, July 17, 2016, 08:34:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fuzzyEuclid

Greetings. Instead of the usual question or what-have-you I figured I would try to deliver a pleasant image for both the curious and those stumbling into this thread by accident: you belong to me now muahahaha!

This started out with a question: could I rough out a quick concept in TG(4) faster - or in roughly equivalent time - than I could via 2D digital painting. [Full disclosure - I'm an IT guy by trade, not an artist] The answer is not really, but it was close! And if I knew my way around TG better, then I believe the answer would have been YES. With the TG version coming out much, much nicer :)

There's plenty that could be done with this, but as usual my time to play is up (hours ago, actually). It's almost all TG, except for the spaceship (a nod to an old 70s design that has stuck in my head since I was a child, and the concept itself is not too far off from that memory either) and the city lights, which are just a group of 2D disks run through a populator and given extra luminosity. My original thought was to run a Simple Shape Shader through a populator, but I hadn't much luck with that and stopped trying after the second failed effort - fired up Blender in the interest of keeping with the speed of development and crafted a light pattern fairly quickly.