Beta 4 crashing when clicking on "Library", worked before and suddenly crashes

Started by decksounds13, July 27, 2016, 05:59:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

decksounds13

I tried bringing procedural grass into my scene but suddenly the program crashes when I click the Library button.  I tried repairing the installation but no dice.  Btw I am new to TG and am very impressed.  I will be buying the final version without question. 

ajcgi

I've only ever had this when I install a new alpha version of TG without installing the old one first.
Have you installed Terragen, then installed it again for some reason?

Dune

I don't use the library. That's all I want to say.
What if you uninstall through configuration, delete all Planetside folders and stuff (to make sure) and install again?

Oshyan

You can try deleting the Library database in the Preferences. See if that helps. It's possible that it auto-added something to the library that is causing an issue (it is set by default to add any imported item to the library automatically, I believe).

- Oshyan

decksounds13

Dune, do you do all of your grass with populations and if so how do you handle large scenes?  I am actually using your free grass and in my current scene I am exceeding my current ram specifications for a population of instances spaced .2 at 3000x5000.  I can populate but when I go to render it quickly climbs up to my limit and then the program just kind of hangs there.  My thoughts with the library was that I could use populations/proxies up close and try to match the look of the foreground with procedural grass in the distance to save memory and time at render.

Oshyan, thank you. I will try that to see if it helps.

edit: It worked, I can get into the Library now but how do I restore the factory assets?  I tried another re-install but it didn't put them back.  Thank you again.

Dune