Export texture to maya

Started by Allenhei, November 30, 2016, 02:05:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Allenhei

hello,everyone. this is my first time to use TG4. i do the landscape, How can i export texture to maya.
i have export the obj file to maya but dont know how to export texture.
or TG4 cannot export texture??

Dune

Welcome to this forum, and to answer your question; the only way I know to export texture is to render it from a topdown camera. But if you apply that texture onto a displaced terain elsewhere I'm pretty sure it'll stretch at more displaced areas.

Allenhei

Quote from: Dune on November 30, 2016, 02:08:42 AM
Welcome to this forum, and to answer your question; the only way I know to export texture is to render it from a topdown camera. But if you apply that texture onto a displaced terain elsewhere I'm pretty sure it'll stretch at more displaced areas.

o...it can only use topdown camera to export texture.
i try import texture to maya is using planning mapping but the render result  :'(
however, displacment map is use topdown camera and using distance shader to export or have other shader?

but still thx dune ;D

Dune

It would be great to be able to 'bake' the TG texture onto some vector displacement map, but I don't think that's possible yet. At least I don't know about it.

Oshyan

Direct texture export is not possible at this time. What is your goal in exporting the texture?

- Oshyan

Allenhei

Quote from: Oshyan on November 30, 2016, 07:50:58 PM
Direct texture export is not possible at this time. What is your goal in exporting the texture?

- Oshyan

hope to render result in maya can look likes in terragen render ,it just try. but watch some tutorial in youtube, also export landscape to maya have no texture. it's only set the camera movement, after that export character and camera movement to terragen to render.

And if i want to try bake displacement map, should see this tutorial?