Author Topic: Classic Erosion plugin  (Read 6630 times)

Offline Dune

  • Terragen Alpha Tester (Win)
  • ***
  • Posts: 13877
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #75 on: May 16, 2018, 06:07:37 AM »
You could add another shader and set different output, but use the same parameters. There will likely be a little difference, but it might work.

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2057
  • to = ( be ) ? be : not;
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #76 on: May 16, 2018, 06:08:05 PM »
Yes, and I currently do that, but considering the limit of three channels and needing to do that, it would be handy to be able to simply offload the maps to TIFF and load them via image map shader or w/e. It also would allow post processing on maps.
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline Dune

  • Terragen Alpha Tester (Win)
  • ***
  • Posts: 13877
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #77 on: May 17, 2018, 05:14:50 AM »
If you offload to tiffs, you can easily shift between masks and offload each in turn (ortho render).

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2057
  • to = ( be ) ? be : not;
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #78 on: May 17, 2018, 07:10:20 PM »
If you offload to tiffs, you can easily shift between masks and offload each in turn (ortho render).

Would love access to the ortho camera, but that's specifically disabled for Free so I can't use TG to export things, even though at small resolution anything exported would be nearly useless for most applications, except to see that TG can appropriately do it for a users instance.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2018, 07:13:43 PM by WASasquatch »
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline bsm3d

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #79 on: May 17, 2018, 10:29:21 PM »
Thanks for such great plug-in !

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2057
  • to = ( be ) ? be : not;
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #80 on: May 27, 2018, 02:44:22 AM »
I've been having a issue where if I render without eroding Terragen will crash as soon as the "Erosion Progress" starts. I have to erode before I render. I usually do this naturally anyway but simetimes I'll forget.  The plugin/tg has never crashed when starting the erosion process outside of a render.

Come to think of it, I actually don't remember this being a issue when I was on the free version on 4.1.11 or whatever it was when I hadn't realized there was an update cause he update feature is down.
« Last Edit: May 27, 2018, 02:55:05 AM by WASasquatch »
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline blinkfrog

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #81 on: May 27, 2018, 07:07:17 AM »
I've been having a issue where if I render without eroding Terragen will crash as soon as the "Erosion Progress" starts.
Thank you for the report. I actually have fixed this bug recently and am fixing another bug at this moment. As soon I'll fix it I'll upload new version.

Daniil

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9185
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #82 on: May 27, 2018, 02:33:08 PM »
I've been having a issue where if I render without eroding Terragen will crash as soon as the "Erosion Progress" starts.
Thank you for the report. I actually have fixed this bug recently and am fixing another bug at this moment. As soon I'll fix it I'll upload new version.

Daniil

good to know
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2057
  • to = ( be ) ? be : not;
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #83 on: May 27, 2018, 05:03:27 PM »
I've been having a issue where if I render without eroding Terragen will crash as soon as the "Erosion Progress" starts.
Thank you for the report. I actually have fixed this bug recently and am fixing another bug at this moment. As soon I'll fix it I'll upload new version.

Daniil

Awesome! Glad to know it was easily found.
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline blinkfrog

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #84 on: May 29, 2018, 07:20:29 PM »
Classic Erosion v1.0.5

- Fixed bug that caused crashes on eroding start and in some other occasions
- Fixed bug that led to incorrect displaying of wear map and deposition map after erosion datafile reading
- Minor fixes

https://daniilkamperov.com/downloads/#classic-erosion

Daniil

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9185
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #85 on: May 29, 2018, 07:26:38 PM »
Classic Erosion v1.0.5

- Fixed bug that caused crashes on eroding start and in some other occasions
- Fixed bug that led to incorrect displaying of wear map and deposition map after erosion datafile reading
- Minor fixes

https://daniilkamperov.com/downloads/#classic-erosion

Daniil

Thank you very much
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New

bobbystahr

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2057
  • to = ( be ) ? be : not;
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #86 on: May 29, 2018, 07:37:09 PM »
Wow what fast work! Great job! Thanks a lot.
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 183
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #87 on: May 29, 2018, 09:15:47 PM »
Classic Erosion v1.0.5

- Fixed bug that caused crashes on eroding start and in some other occasions
- Fixed bug that led to incorrect displaying of wear map and deposition map after erosion datafile reading
- Minor fixes

https://daniilkamperov.com/downloads/#classic-erosion

Daniil

Thanks Danill!  Does this mean that Flow, Wear, and Deposition are actually correctly saved in the .erd file, and after installing this new version of Classic Erosion that data will properly load?  OR do I need to re-erode my terrain and save a new .erd file?  Some of my 16k erosions take 2 hours so that's why I am wondering.

Derek

Offline blinkfrog

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #88 on: May 30, 2018, 03:35:51 AM »
Thanks Danill!  Does this mean that Flow, Wear, and Deposition are actually correctly saved in the .erd file, and after installing this new version of Classic Erosion that data will properly load?
Derek
Yes, it does.  :) You don't need to reerode.

Daniil

Offline D.A. Bentley

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 183
    • D.A. Bentley
Re: Classic Erosion plugin
« Reply #89 on: May 30, 2018, 04:23:23 AM »
Sweet!  I am doing my final renderings right now, so it's perfect timing!  Now I can just load my scenes and the erosion data loads right in from the .erd file.

I have never used the other two maps (Streamline Map, and Water Depth Map).  Do those get saved in the .erd file as well?  How do you use those?

Derek

 

anything