Author Topic: population underground  (Read 311 times)

Offline Preacherman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
population underground
« on: November 22, 2018, 06:38:57 PM »
hi,

I got a weird problem, when i insert a population, it appears underground, no matter the height i select.
see tgd. any suggestions on how to fix that? i have no experience in 3d modelling btw.

Rens

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: population underground
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2018, 07:46:49 PM »
There are some problems with the sheep model:

1) units of scale are in millimeters, while TG's units are meters, so the sheep is 1000x too big.
2) the 'origin' of the model, which defines the center of the model, is not at coordinates 0,0,0.
This means that if you load the model into a scene it does not place the model at the origin with coordinates 0,0,0.

The populator assumes the model has the origin set correctly.

To fix this I rescaled the model in TG and adjusted the coordinate offset to have the sheep appear at coordinates 0,0,0.
I had to do this manually, so it's not perfect, but definitely much better.

Just copy/paste the message below into TG and re-open the file in the object maker (since I had to adjust the file path).
Use these changes in the object maker for your populator.
I hope this helps.

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: population underground
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2018, 07:47:01 PM »
<terragen_clip>
   <obj_reader
      name = "SHEEP_L.obj"
      gui_use_node_pos = "1"
      gui_node_pos = "0 0 0"
      gui_group = "Objects"
      enable = "1"
      population_mode = "0"
      preview_options_use_preview_colour = "0"
      preview_options_preview_colour = "1 1 1"
      preview_options_main_hidden = "0"
      preview_options_main_bounding_box = "0"
      preview_options_main_wireframe = "0"
      preview_options_wf_bounding_box = "0"
      preview_options_main_smooth_shaded = "0"
      preview_options_main_textured = "1"
      show_b-box_in_preview = "1"
      show_wireframe = "1"
      filename = "O:\TG-2-Files\Forum-Questions\Preacherman\SHEEP_L.obj"
      file_seq_first = "1"
      loop_file_seq = "1"
      file_seq_last = "1000"
      pingpong_file_seq = "0"
      file_seq_offset = "0"
      read_MDD_file = "0"
      MDD_filename = ""
      mesh_displacer = ""
      surface_shader = "Parts shader 01"
      displacement_tolerance = "1"
      visible_to_camera = "1"
      visibility = "2"
      visible_to_other_rays = "1"
      cast_shadows = "1"
      double-sided_surface = "1"
      use_smooth_normals = "1"
      flip_normals = "0"
      render_method = "0"
      sorting_bias = "0"
      translate = "-1.505 0.9 1.8"
      rotate = "0 0 0"
      scale = "0.001 0.001 0.001"
      heading = "0"
      elevation = "0"
      distance = "1"
      import_offset = "0 0 0"
      import_scale = "1"
      import_motion_filename = ""
      source_in_cm = "0"
      source_Z_up = "0"
      >
      <parts_shader
         name = "Parts shader 01"
         gui_use_node_pos = "1"
         gui_node_pos = "200 60 0"
         gui_group = ""
         enable = "1"
         input_node = ""
         gui_use_preview_patch_size = "0"
         gui_preview_patch_size = "1000 1000"
         >
      </parts_shader>
   </obj_reader>
</terragen_clip>

Offline Preacherman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: population underground
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2018, 07:48:13 PM »
thanks!

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13114
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: population underground
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2018, 08:00:44 PM »
Ideally I would suggest fixing these issues - especially the object "origin" or anchor - in a modeling program before importing into Terragen. But Martin's workaround works if you don't want to bother. :)

- Oshyan

Offline Preacherman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: population underground
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2018, 08:10:11 PM »
Hence the ' i have no experience in 3d modelling btw.'
i tried poseray but didnt know how to. so I did 'bother'

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3255
Re: population underground
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2018, 08:17:35 PM »
I feel your pain. 3D orientation and me just don't mix. My Dyscalculia really messes me up. But I am giving a go and fixing this model for ya.

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3255
Re: population underground
« Reply #7 on: November 22, 2018, 09:27:23 PM »
Here you go, it's alright... Lol I also added some basic TG shading.

Also stuck the sheeps eyes back in it's skull...
« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 09:32:31 PM by WASasquatch »

Offline Preacherman

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: population underground
« Reply #8 on: November 22, 2018, 09:31:52 PM »
nice :o thanks!

Offline bobbystahr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10346
  • Turn, and face the Strange Ch Ch Changes...D Bowie
Re: population underground
« Reply #9 on: November 23, 2018, 01:41:08 PM »
Good on ya Jordan!
something borrowed,
something Blue.
Ring out the Old.
Bring in the New
Bobby Stahr, Paracosmologist