What is operators / functions ?

Started by iaminonsiner, January 23, 2019, 05:43:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

iaminonsiner

Hi.

I am still learning about Terragen and today I would like to know more about two things: How do the operators and functions work?

I see lot of things in operator / functions menu but I don't know what is it exactly ?
How to use them ? ( especially, how to connect and wich node connect with another node...  )

I tried to add " Heightfield operator erode " in one project and tried few differents connections but no results...

I tried to find myself links, tutorials, images or videos about that but I can't find something really useful for me.

Can someone explain me clearly the utility and fonctioning of operators / functions?

Thank.

archonforest

Operators works with Heighfields. In order to see what an operator dos do this:

1. Fire up TG and delete the Fractal Terrain.
2. Add Terrain Heighfield(generated)
3. Click on the small + sign before the Highfield Shader 01
4. Clicl on Highfield Generate.
5. At the bottom of the page click Generate now. 
6. Now add an Operator from the list. Change some values.
7. Re-generate the Height field and see the changes.

You have to regenerate the Hieghtfield after each modification you do. Otherwise you will not see any change on the terrain.
Dell T5500 with Dual Hexa Xeon CPU 3Ghz, 32Gb ram, GTX 1080
Amiga 1200 8Mb ram, 8Gb ssd

iaminonsiner

Quote from: archonforest on January 24, 2019, 02:50:51 AM
Operators works with Heighfields. In order to see what an operator dos do this:

1. Fire up TG and delete the Fractal Terrain.
2. Add Terrain Heighfield(generated)
3. Click on the small + sign before the Highfield Shader 01
4. Clicl on Highfield Generate.
5. At the bottom of the page click Generate now. 
6. Now add an Operator from the list. Change some values.
7. Re-generate the Height field and see the changes.