Author Topic: Default shader - how to stretch?  (Read 141 times)

Offline N-drju

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1434
  • A bee-sting allergic artist and philosopher
Default shader - how to stretch?
« on: May 17, 2019, 08:47:15 PM »
So I made a texture for an object by "Colour image" option of the default shader.

I would like to stretch it laterally, but can't find a good way to do it. I tried putting "Transform input shader" between an object part and the default shader. "World space" on and "world space" off, but to no avail. How can I change the "tiling" then?


"When dictatorship is a fact, revolution becomes a right."

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13022
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: Default shader - how to stretch?
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2019, 08:50:40 PM »
Use an Image Map Shader as the Colour Function and you get a lot more control.

- Oshyan

Offline Dune

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15071
    • www.ulco-art.nl
Re: Default shader - how to stretch?
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2019, 05:38:04 AM »
If the UV is right, then stretching the texture itself (Photoshop) is the best option. World space is no option for the blades, you could use that for the stems, if they are pure vertical.
Or use a pf with stretched Z (I believe), not world space.
Or use mine  ;)

Offline N-drju

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1434
  • A bee-sting allergic artist and philosopher
Re: Default shader - how to stretch?
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2019, 07:58:22 AM »
It doesn't work either way. Image shader, while an evident solution, causes even more problems, generating some wild, inexplicable texturing regardless of the plane employed.

Luckily, it can be done in XFrog, so I guess I'll stick to it.
"When dictatorship is a fact, revolution becomes a right."

Offline WASasquatch

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3136
  • The Homeless Landscape Artist
Re: Default shader - how to stretch?
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2019, 03:16:09 PM »
It doesn't work either way. Image shader, while an evident solution, causes even more problems, generating some wild, inexplicable texturing regardless of the plane employed.

Luckily, it can be done in XFrog, so I guess I'll stick to it.


Did you try a transform on your image map? But yes, it's definitely best to do this with the object natively, especially the images. No reason for any of this if it's not proc.
Art can be a window into the soul

Offline N-drju

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1434
  • A bee-sting allergic artist and philosopher
Re: Default shader - how to stretch?
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2019, 12:53:19 PM »
Did you try a transform on your image map?

Transform, oddly enough, didn't work. It must be what Ulco said. But I somehow thought this is the key for such issues.
"When dictatorship is a fact, revolution becomes a right."