Artifacts when rendering Xfrog trees

Started by Hans25, December 28, 2019, 09:21:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hans25

Hi Terragen Artists

First post here. I'm a Terragen beginner so please bear with me if this issue is self explanatory to the more experienced users. I tried to search for artifacts when rendering but I couldn't find something that looked like what I'm experiencing. 

For some reason there are large quadratic areas in the picture that have different color and seems to be rendered on top of what actually is put in the landscape. Does anyone have a clue of what is causing this. Its probably some settings that I have made that make this mess.

While I'm at it can anyone point me in a direction of what to do to make the trees more realistic. They look horrible right now. 

Thanks a lot

Trees1.JPG

Trees2.JPG

WAS

Which Xfrog tree is this?

Very strange effect. It looks like the Alpha is not playing nicely.

sboerner

Welcome to the forum!

I can't speak to the color tile overlays, but it looks like the texture links may be broken in the tree's shading network.

The shading network is in the obj reader node's internal network. To get there, find the obj reader in the node panel and click on its "+" plus sign. Then click the "+" on the Parts shader that pops up. This will take you to the material shaders and you can sort things out there. You may just need to plug in the textures that came with the model. (For the leaves you may need both the color and opacity files.)

Click the "Up level" button on the left side of the node view to work your way back up to the main node network. 

You can also use the outline panel on the left to edit the shading network if that's more intuitive. Just make sure the "Objects" button at the top is selected, then click the triangle next to the object to start working your way down.