Luminosity & Atmosphere

Started by vittorio_b, October 04, 2020, 06:29:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

vittorio_b

Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to Terragen and this is actually my first post here. I'm working on a matte painting of planet viewed from space where a good part of the surface is on fire.
I projected a texture onto the Luminosity channel of a Surface Layer as I was hoping that the shader would actually light up the other elements of the scene. The light is affecting the cloud layer but it's somehow ignored by the atmosphere. Do you know if there is a way to make the luminosity and the atmos work together?
Attached a comparison of a real light source and the luminosity texture.

Thanks!

WAS

Luminosity doesn't really work well for "spot" lighting things in my experience, but you could try upping environment light in the cloud and atmosphere.

Dune

Welcome to the forum. So you want to have the texture light up the atmosphere, like the haze? In that case maybe it's better to add another gobal cloud layer and project the texture onto that. Or if you want to try lighting the actual atmo, maybe (it's a wild guess) use its shadow function. But white will be shadow, so you have to invert/complement and maybe increase the strength (multiply by some number). Just theory, so you'll have to experiment a little.

WAS

Quote from: Dune on October 05, 2020, 02:25:14 AMWelcome to the forum. So you want to have the texture light up the atmosphere, like the haze? In that case maybe it's better to add another gobal cloud layer and project the texture onto that. Or if you want to try lighting the actual atmo, maybe (it's a wild guess) use its shadow function. But white will be shadow, so you have to invert/complement and maybe increase the strength (multiply by some number). Just theory, so you'll have to experiment a little.