Using Easy Cloud as mask to determine where rain falls out

Started by tws27, December 05, 2020, 11:05:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tws27

Hi all, this is a question which largely follows on from the "stormy sky" thread at https://planetside.co.uk/forums/index.php/topic,23592.0.html  I have been using Terragen for several years but only purchased the registered (Creative) version earlier this year and have been using it mainly to make skies.  My knowledge of how to use Terragen is patchy, strong in some areas but weak in others.

Using Easy Clouds I have been able to create realistic-looking cumulus congestus clouds using the Altocumulus Castellanus and Cumulus presets, by setting the "Cloud depth" to around 50000.  I have also been able to simulate "rain" quite well by manually placing a localised Y-stretched "Global: Very Thin" cloud with custom settings along the lines of Edge Sharpness 0.16, Cloud Density 0.016 and Coverage 1 underneath a given cloud.  I've attached one of the better examples of this effect as an image.  The default colour of 0.25 works well for rain showers, and if I want to simulate snow or hail I simply increase the cloud and scattering colours (0.6-0.7 seems to work well for snow).  However, it's a bit cumbersome manually matching it to sit underneath the thicker clouds.

In that aforementioned thread, Dune posted the following:

QuoteThe rain can be done with a stretched masked cloud at lower altitude, which is also warpable (for wind effects). You could even use the main cloud as mask to determine where the darkest clouds need to rain out.
So I've been looking into creating a Y-shaped thin global cloud ("Shower 01" in the attached nodes diagram), with the same size and position (again localised) as the main zone of clouds (here "Ac Cas 01") and seeing if I can achieve this.  Despite several hours of experimenting and checking the various forum threads relating to rain, I'm stumped as to how to achieve this.