Thinking about a new workstation

Started by sboerner, September 09, 2023, 05:18:39 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sboerner

Been a while since I've been here. Sorry for being AWOL . . . I've been up to my ears in research for the next canal scene. I'm also starting to get some small commissions for historical landscapes and have been spending some time with TG too.

I haven't been posting but have been popping in to look stuff up and lurk. Great stuff going on here, as usual, even though it may be a little quieter.

Anyway, per the title of this post: I'm looking to replacing my second workstation, an ancient 2012 Mac Pro, with a new Windows machine. My main workstation now is a Windows machine that I had custom built several years ago. It works great and I'd be happy to just clone it.

I'm sure there have been advances but I haven't kept up . . . I'm not too technically oriented these days, just want to turn the machine on and go. So I thought I ask the experts here for suggestions.

Here's my current Windows configuration:

Motherboard: Gigabyte X399 Aorus Gaming.
Processor: AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X.
Memory: 32GB DDR4 266.
SSD: 500GB.
HD: 1TB.
Video: 8GB GeForce RTX 2070 PCIe.

I'm sure I'd get a performance boost by increasing the memory to 64GB (or more). I may do that anyway. But if I can scrape together the $$$ I'll still want to get a second machine.

Open to suggestions.

Dune

Good to see you here again, Steve, and good to hear you're getting commissions. Great! I can't recommend anything here, I'll leave that to the real experts.
I've got a AMD Ryzen 9 5900X which I'm very happy with. On a Gigabyte X570 AORUS PRO. Noctua NH-U12A cooler, and 64 gigs of Patriot Viper Steel memory in 2 chunks of 32. I was able to take over a GeForce GTX 1660 Ti, when the stuff was scarce and expensive (traded it for some 3D objects 8)  ). I don't know how that is today.

sboerner