rendering control help

Started by photostar73, February 19, 2008, 02:48:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

photostar73

Hi to everyone,
I'm new to Terragen, and i needed some help...
I can see in the rendering control panel the "Camera Position" and "Target Position" with also "fixed Height Above Surface" variables on them. I understood well how works the x-y axis, but I don't understand in wich way the regulations are influencing the z axis either in fixed or non fixed mode and how the z axis really works: can anyone help me? There is any tutorial that explains well this stuff?
I ask you about this 'cause i work in digital arts as a photomanipulator, and I'm trying to implement Terragen landscapes in some of my works. Being a photographer i start my works from the real images, and it will be fundamental for me to understand well the "camera" tools for find the right position and point of view in my landscapes.
Thanks in advance to everyone will help out.

jo

Hi,

The z axis value controls your height, up and down. Large z axis values are higher, smaller ones are lower.

The "Fixed Height above Terrain" controls let you keep the camera a certain height above the terrain as the camera moves around it. It's purpose is to help keep the camera above the terrain. If it is unchecked the camera will stay at the same height when you move it around, and that might mean you move it underneath a hill without realising.

There are several ways of moving the camera. You can change its position using the x and y fields in the Rendering Control window. You can move the camera in the terrain preview in the Rendering Control window, or in the Landscape - View & Sculpt window. You can also move the camera using the 3D Preview.