DEM Question

Started by Cemoa, June 10, 2008, 01:58:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cemoa

Hi all,

I am pretty new to Terragen, but have learned a lot so far from these forums (you guys are fantastic!). As you can see, I've been in lurk mode up until now, using the search feature to answer most of my questions. There is one thing though that I have been trying to do now for about a day or two, but just can't get it down. Lately, I've been reading up on DEM usage, and how to import them into TGD. It seems a little complicated for my basic Terragen knowledge, but I figure it could help me a lot in some projects I wish to do in the future. My problem is that after I load my DEM into TGD, the ground is pretty much flat with the exception of a weird plateau. Keep in mind, the DEM I am trying to load in is full of steep mountains. (http://edc.usgs.gov/products/elevation/gtopo30/w140n40.html) I'll try to give you guys a walkthrough on what I do to import it:

1). I get my DEM.
2). I use 3dem, and select "Save->Entire Terrain"
3). I open up TGD and select "Add Terrain->Heightfield Load.
4). I insert the file when it asks me for it.
5). It seems to try to load it, but all I get is a weird plateau effect.

I saw an earlier thread with someone with this problem, but the explaination was a little over my head (it had something to do with changing the height of the DEM to be over 0 or something like that, can't really remember).

If anyone could post a solution to my problem in noob terms it would be greatly appreciated. I look forward to talking with you guys and learning more and more on this awesome program!  ;D

P.S: I attached a TGD of my problem if it will help any. It's basically plain, but I figure it's better than nothing.  :)

Mohawk20

Without looking at the tgd I'd say the solution should be simple.
Rightclick in the node view and select 'Create Heightfield Operator', then select 'Heightfield adjust vertical', the top one.