Fingerprint detected on a bullet casing

Started by maulsull, June 18, 2008, 08:39:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

maulsull

Hi all,

As my day job I am a lecturer in materials engineering at Swansea university in the UK. Within my research group two of my colleagues Prof. N. McMurray and Dr G. Williams have developed a machine that can be used for forensic detection of fingerprints on metal such as bullet casings or bomb fragments. The techniques is non contact so does not destroy evidence and can even show fingeprints that have apparently been "rubbed off" surfaces as it relies on the fact that when a person touches an object they leave behind minute traces of salt. This salt starts a corrosion reaction on the metal and our machine can detect these tiny corrosion voltages (billonths of a volt) and plot the data out to show fingerprints. This raw data is stored as a grid of these voltages so I thought that I could convert this into a heightfield and render the data in 3d. I initially did this using the landscape package vistapro and the images I produced were used in the UK version of FHM magazine and in the Daily Mail. I have now re-rendered some of this data using terragen 2 alpha and thought I would share them with you guys. Thanks to littlecannon for the basis of the canyon tgd.

Dr James Sullivan

rcallicotte

So this is Disney World.  Can we live here?

Sengin

Wow.  That is pretty awesome.  And the execution on TG2 is pretty neat as well  :)

Seth

very good :)
except the grainy look of he clouds ^^
i am not a big fan of the clouds' shape too but the terrain is really good !

monks

Fascinating!, as a watcher of 'The Crime Channel' :) and a terrainer, this is an unexpected pleasure.

monks

nikita

Interesting technology... sounds cool and useful..   :)

maulsull

Thanks for the comments. If you want some more info on how the technique works have a look at our website