Desert structure

Started by bri, August 06, 2008, 06:29:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bri

Weird things happen in the desert  ;D

I was just messing around with the negative depth on a crater shader and some others. I haven't been very active with TG2, but when I found out about the new update, I wanted to start messing with it again. I'm still learning the functions and the complexity of some of the tools is kind of overwhelming, I don't know where to start!  :D

Let me know what you think and if I can improve on anything. I think I will work on this tomorrow and add some more variations in the surface and add a small layer of many rocks. I'm hoping, if it comes out okay, if someone can render this bigger and allow me to set it up as a print? Or, is that against the rules? I don't have the money to upgrade, but I'd really like to show it off to my Computer Art teacher(she's fascinated by Terragen, but teaches the kids Bryce) and I'd like to try to get more artwork in a local gallery again.  ;)

schmeerlap

I find the exaggerated displacement confusing. A more upright structure with Redirect displacement, and less severe Sheer would be more pleasing to the eye, I feel. Experimentation is good, though.
I hope I realise I don't exist before I apparently die.

bri

Quote from: schmeerlap on August 07, 2008, 06:04:18 AM
I find the exaggerated displacement confusing. A more upright structure with Redirect displacement, and less severe Sheer would be more pleasing to the eye, I feel. Experimentation is good, though.

Thank you for the comment. I'm rerendering it now with a slightly different shape... I believe. I still have the JPEG from the last render, so I'm gonna see if it actually changed. I just lowered the 2 Lean Factor to 1.5, and it made an obvious change in the quick render, now I just gotta figure out if it was a good one  ;D