newbie question

Started by ndel, August 14, 2009, 10:10:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ndel

I am new in terragen, and did sofar just only a couple of testrenderings. Here and there i noticed some black spots in the renderings. Looks to me that some displaced triangles are shaded black.
Due lack of my experience, i dont know the right settings for rendering.
Used different quality and AA but it keeps showing up here and there (and not always at same place)...and its not in every rendering -just a couple times.

Maybe you have some hints to what i should avoid, or looking for to change. :)

In lowres renderings there are also holes (sky shining through) in the landscape, but these are getting miraculously closed at higher settings.

Its a exported .ter file of a preset of the geo control demo, scaled down (with heightfield resize to 1470 m).

Matti

Matt

Hi Matti, welcome.

Recently I've seen this problem happening much more often (or what appears to be the same problem). I'm currently trying to figure out what's causing it so we can include a fix in the next update.

Matt
Just because milk is white doesn't mean that clouds are made of milk.

Henry Blewer

I have been able to avoid these lately. What I believe is happening is the faces are being twisted so they overlap ( or something like this) To avoid this I am careful using scale settings. The scale settings are determined using a compute normal. The compute normal setting is set to the smallest scale of the node it inputs to.
http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

ndel

Hi there,

Some of these black dots are not a problem, cause i am using the background for an illustration and it will be painted out.
But now i m running in other things i cant explain.
Actually i don ´t have a clue of everything i am doing right now, :) just collecting clips (thanks to everybody bytheway ) from the forum and plugging them together to see what happen.