Author Topic: [feature request] Reopen last render  (Read 4311 times)

Offline 3DGuy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 340
    • The Glass Eye Photography
[feature request] Reopen last render
« on: February 08, 2007, 07:19:35 PM »
When you've rendered a scene and close the renderwindow I would like to reopen it. If you goto the render window now you get a blank image.

Offline Tangled-Universe

  • Terrevangelist
  • *
  • Posts: 6183
    • CGScenery.com - Terragen Tutorials!
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2007, 09:32:56 PM »
Just like good'ol TG 0.x :)
Good suggestion, because it's useful to review your last render while working on changes.

Martin

buzzzzz

  • Guest
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2007, 04:08:56 AM »
When you've rendered a scene and close the renderwindow I would like to reopen it. If you goto the render window now you get a blank image.

Yeah, I noticed that also. I wonder if it has anything to do with the fact that I disable saving temp files on each scene I setup? I"m thinking that's where it would store the last rendered scene. I'll have to let it save a temp file on my next render and see if it works.

buzzzzz

  • Guest
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2007, 04:11:59 AM »
Nope! Didn't work so I guess it's broken or hasn't been implemented as of yet?  ???

buzzzzz

  • Guest
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2007, 01:26:17 PM »
Well I hate to tell you this but that's not an option to view last render as in the TG 9.

If you click on View in the tool bar, then Render you get a small view window pop-up right? Well it's not to view last render as I thought.  ::)  It has a render button on it, top left side. If you click on that all it does is start the render. LOL You can do the same thing by hitting F3.  So much to learn...so little time.

Offline cyphyr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4036
    • richardfraser
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2007, 03:23:19 PM »
Your last renders are stored in the terragen temp file, this can be opened by clicking on : File>Explore Temporary Files. Here you will see a list of numbered folders click on "Date Modified" and your most recent render folder will be at the top. Its worth while clearing out this folder once in a while as it can fill up quite fast. I'm up to 500MB of temp files so far.
Hope this helps.
Richad
www.richardfraser.co.uk
https://www.facebook.com/RichardFraserVFX/
/|\

i7 5930K @3.5Ghz, 32Gb (TG4 benchmark 13.44)
i7 980 @3.75Ghz, 16Gb (TG4 benchmark 18:40)

Offline 3DGuy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 340
    • The Glass Eye Photography
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2007, 05:46:14 PM »
I know that you can use the temp files, but adding such an option to the program should not be too much hassle. Also, the temp dir doesn't store the HDR images, just a the bmp files. I usually save the exr files so I can adjust the exposure if needed in photoshop.

Offline Drocket

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2007, 05:21:38 AM »
I am a new user of Terragen so just getting on the learning curve but what would be useful would be to have a tabbed view which lists a number of previous renders, if any of you have used Modo, then you will see what I mean, I find it a really useful feature to be able to flick between renders to note the changes I have made.

By the way Terragen 2 is incredible :), I can't wait to see it develop.

Drocket.

Offline Oshyan

  • Planetside Staff
  • *
  • Posts: 13116
  • Holy snagging ducks!
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2007, 05:19:40 AM »
We will be significantly improving the render and image viewer in the future.

- Oshyan

Offline Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2282
  • For the easily entertained!
Re: [feature request] Reopen last render
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2007, 09:31:52 PM »
good to hear.

regards,

Will
The world is round... so you have to use spherical projection.

 

anything