Author Topic: Planet Ring  (Read 21780 times)

CCC

  • Guest
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #30 on: March 05, 2010, 09:26:44 PM »
I extended the ring a bit larger then the planet size which is now using the default planet being active and the atmosphere, however the ring boundarys being visible yet the ring itself is not. I made sure the size of the ring is larger then that of the planet.

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #31 on: March 06, 2010, 04:26:00 AM »
Try increasing the cloud layer's Altitude and Depth to infinity, or as close to it as you can get.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

CCC

  • Guest
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #32 on: March 06, 2010, 04:49:05 AM »
Cloud alt and depth are at 9e+008. Nothing is visible.

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #33 on: March 06, 2010, 05:00:56 AM »
Ohhh. Just figured it out: The Simple Shape shader draws shapes on the planet surface. It doesn't extend into space.
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

CCC

  • Guest
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #34 on: March 06, 2010, 05:24:16 AM »
But the smaller version that Orge was working on was going into space unless it has altitude limitations for some reason.

Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #35 on: March 06, 2010, 12:11:52 PM »
Nice one, Ogre. I'm also still playing around with alternative distribution methods of clouds for this. That's a good workaround to the contour shader method, more nodes to control, though. :)

Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #36 on: March 06, 2010, 06:46:05 PM »
It's actually even simpler than that, thanks, Ogre.
The simple shape-merger can be used as the blender on its own to a surface layer with the cloud fractal as colour function.

I'm finding the cloud ring cut-offs are coming from bad cloud height/depth settings, rather than the contour shader. The closer to the centre of the planet you set the height - the more cut-off there is behind the planet. The contour shader method relies on the ring layers being constrained within it's own limits. This makes it a very tight squeeze.

I'm going to test with 4x larger contour spacings and offsets to see if it helps, the rings can then be wider and, hopefully, not cut-off...

23061-0

23063-1


Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #37 on: March 06, 2010, 07:48:41 PM »
Even simpler yet. You only need one simple shape shader, the cloud's height/depth settings will suffice to stop it appearing close to the planet.

This is a single cloud layer, not multiple rings. The appearance of banding is from a sin function blending of the density fractal.

23067-0

23069-1

* planet rings - 1 layer.tgc (8.83 kB - downloaded 192 times.)

Thanks, Ogre, for steering me away from the contour shader! :)

I love how problems just get worked out in here and everyone chips in with new and better ways to do things and overcome issues. This is one of those things! Let's pat ourselves on our collective back! Ahh, I can hear the rumbling, like a power fractal! :D


Offline Henry Blewer

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6333
  • The cooler weather is great!
    • flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #38 on: March 06, 2010, 08:19:55 PM »
Brilliant!
http://flickr.com/photos/njeneb/
Forget Tuesday; It's just Monday spelled with a T

Offline Kadri

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8502
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #39 on: March 06, 2010, 09:44:14 PM »

Nice  :)

CCC

  • Guest
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #40 on: March 06, 2010, 09:45:16 PM »
Hopefully, i can get those ringlets in there as well and translucency.

CCC

  • Guest
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #41 on: March 07, 2010, 12:52:18 AM »
Not a ring but this could make well for a weird halo around any planet.

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #42 on: March 07, 2010, 03:37:22 AM »
Nice one, dandelO! The planet still looks like a small-scale model, though. I'll download it and see....
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?

Offline dandelO

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2401
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #43 on: March 07, 2010, 12:16:20 PM »
It is still a small planet model, that's why it looks like it. ;)
Just scale up the settings. Make a duplicate and multiply all the appropriate inputs relatively.

Offline TheBlackHole

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1068
  • I never finish anything I st
    • Maps and Such
Re: Planet Ring
« Reply #44 on: March 07, 2010, 07:25:43 PM »
I'm confused. You made it, and can understand what's going on here. I, on the other hand, don't. I prefer to solve problems in terms of power fractals and distance shaders. Can't you scale it up to full size? I'm too confused to scale up all the settings.
EDIT: Just got an idea. I'm trying it now. >:( Didn't work.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2010, 07:39:41 PM by TheBlackHole »
They just issued a tornado warning and said to stay away from windows. Does that mean I can't use my computer?