New Terragen user - is Mojoworld still a worthy tool?

Started by auricle, May 06, 2010, 12:07:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

auricle

Hi,

I've bought the Terragen 2/Xfrog Mega bundle (hi everyone!) and I'm looking forward to getting my teeth into this program. I'm a totally new at 3D landscape generation - although I did own Bryce many years ago so I know some of the concepts. Using functions to generate landscape, colours, etc I don't know at all. I'm looking at creating some still pictures and animations to put to some music (I'm an amateur musician mostly). I'm very much looking forward to creating some realistic and fantasy landscape art with TG.

Anyway, onto my point! :) A few weeks ago, I looked closely at Mojoworld on Pandromeda's website. It looked very powerful with some very interesting features. I didn't notice that the last time the website was updated was 2006. On closer inspection I also noticed that their SSL certificate (for encrypted https connections) had expired. I sent an email to Pandromeda support confirming my interest and left it at that.

Two weeks later Ken Musgrave himself emailed me that the website isn't working (webmaster had left) and could I pay via PayPal or cashier's check. I voiced my concern that Mojoworld hadn't been updated for a while and he said that there are big plans for it but he couldn't tell me what they were.

Further emails were exchanged basically saying I can't pay via paypal (they blocked my account due to someone hacked it to use it illegally) and I didn't want to post a check from the UK. I said could I send a bank transfer to his business account. He replied that he's having problems with his merchant account and could I send it to his personal account instead.

Normally, alarm bells would be ringing and I would just walk away as this doesn't seem on the level to me but this is Ken Musgrave himself - surely he can be trusted?